iMac whith fcp at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 24th, 2006, 07:51 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 135
iMac whith fcp

Hello folks, any one using imac with FCP expres or FCP pro.
I need your best opinions.

Thanks in advance.......Franklin





www.franklinbencosme.com
Franklin Bencosme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 08:26 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 206
I use an Intel iMac and FCP 5.1.2 and it rocks. I maxed the ram and upped the hard drive and graphics card. Great editing machine, as good or better than my dual G5 at work.
__________________
www.CodemanStudios.com
Cody Lucido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006, 01:54 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 689
Hi Franklin,

I use a 17" G5 iMac with FCP 5 for onsite same-day edits. Works great. I have it hooked up to an additional monitor in the office for DVD authoring and burning along side a dual G5 tower. You can span two monitors with an iMac with this:

http://www.rutemoeller.com/mp/ibook/ibook_e.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franklin Bencosme
Hello folks, any one using imac with FCP expres or FCP pro.
I need your best opinions.

Thanks in advance.......Franklin
www.franklinbencosme.com
Joel Peregrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006, 06:32 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 135
Thanks For The Information.
Franklin........
Franklin Bencosme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2006, 01:40 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joel Peregrine
Hi Franklin,

I use a 17" G5 iMac with FCP 5 for onsite same-day edits. Works great. I have it hooked up to an additional monitor in the office for DVD authoring and burning along side a dual G5 tower. You can span two monitors with an iMac with this:

http://www.rutemoeller.com/mp/ibook/ibook_e.html
Don't the iMac come with a mini-DVI connection on the back. All you would need is a mini-DVI to standard DVI cable to connect the 2nd monitor. Though I've only ever seen the newer intel iMacs.
__________________
Glen Elliott
Cord 3 Films
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2006, 09:23 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Welland ON
Posts: 515
All the flat panel iMacs come with the mini-DVI IIRC but only the Intel ones allowed extended desktop without any kind of hack. The G5's only allowed mirrored desktops so you had to do the above mentioned workaround.
__________________
"We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty."
Nate Schmidt is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network