FCP export to Soundtrack at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 25th, 2006, 11:33 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7
FCP export to Soundtrack

I'm trying to open a sequence in Soundtrack to do some mixing, which now only includes multiple tracks of dialogue. When I do "send to" Soundtrack as a multitrack project with background movie, the audio is all jumbled up, some stuff that's not in the sequence is used, and it's out of order. The background movie remains what I've edited.

How do I get the audio clips as they are in the sequence to move over to Soundtrack?
Burt Farber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2006, 03:21 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7
I've downloaded and watched the lynda.com tutorial with Larry Jordan, and I'm doing the exact same thing he is, but with the wrong result.

If anyone has any idea what's going on, I'd be appreciative.

I have mono channels, a total of 3 tracks, but when I export the sequence to Soundtrack Pro as a multitrack proj., it imports the audio out of order with the background movie. It even brings in audio from the source clips that aren't on the timeline, but part of the source file.

I'm pulling my hair out here to find out what Im possibly doing wrong.
Burt Farber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2007, 12:15 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington Grove, MD & Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Posts: 14
bump...

Whilst searching for help on here regarding this exact same problem, I came upon Burt's unanswered post. Anyone have any ideas? Burt did you ever manage to solve the problem?

I saw something in the Apple help about how Soundtrack can't deal with re-linked clips (video that is linked to audio other than its original), which I thought was the problem. But I've unlinked all the clips, and still no dice.

My problem seems to be the exact same as Burt's: I'm transferring to Soundtrack Pro via the "File>Send To>Soundtrack Pro Multitrack Project", and although some of the audio is in place, other stuff seems randomly jumbled, and there are clips where there were none before, etc.

Thanks,
Kevin
Kevin Good is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2007, 01:53 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 151
Are you sending subclips? STP sees subclips as the full media, and brings in the full media, not just your sub. Very unpleasant. Try making subclips independent, then send to stp.
Stu Siegal is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:21 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network