merge clips...Is it possible? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 19th, 2006, 10:51 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kingman Arizona
Posts: 298
merge clips...Is it possible?

I am new to fcp 5 and with lots of xp with ppro2.0. Back in my ppro2.0 days, merging clips was easy.

Not so in fcp...

I cannot merge two clips for the life of me. When ever I try to select "merge clips" it always unavailable. It is almost like the software doesnt even have the function.

I have tried everything!

What are the requirements in order to merge two or more clips?

I am editing hdv 24p from the jvc hd100. The reason I have to merge the clips is because fcp broke the capture up in to multiple files instead of one big file. Its a known problem with fcp and the jvc hd100.
Jonathan Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2006, 01:29 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kingman Arizona
Posts: 298
I guess it is not possible.
Jonathan Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2006, 02:15 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
What does the function do?

Since FCP users are not familiar with the terminology, we don't know what you're asking.

Does it take two clips in the bin, "merge" them together so they are one, new clip? If so, FCP doesn't do that.

[edit: I just went searching in the FCP help file, and it explained everything. Merge Clips in FCP is for syncing video clips to audio clips for double system productions. not for joining multiple video clips]
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2006, 02:30 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kingman Arizona
Posts: 298
Thanks for the clarification. What I wanted to do is join mutliple clips together so that I can use them as one angle in a multiclip.

Right now, the only solution I have found was just exporting a new file. Sounds like there should be a way around this.
Jonathan Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2006, 02:44 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Huntington, NY
Posts: 41
Johnathan,

Try looking into nesting the sequence in FCP. FCP treats sequences like clips. Don't if this is what your looking to do? but I hope it helps.
__________________
Carlos Viteri - www.clvideo.com
Where Vision Meets Video
Carlos Viteri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2006, 02:47 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kingman Arizona
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos Viteri
Johnathan,

Try looking into nesting the sequence in FCP. FCP treats sequences like clips. Don't if this is what your looking to do? but I hope it helps.
I will look into this. Nested sequences would do the trick if they can be used in a multiclip.

Thanks for the tip.
Jonathan Nelson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network