is this possible...Mac to PC? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 19th, 2006, 05:16 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 86
is this possible...Mac to PC?

Wondering if I can go straight from my Mac to PC by playing a sequence in FCP using firewire?

The setup I have now is connecting a firewire cable from FCP to my VX2100 camera (External Video>All Frames) and recording the video onto miniDV tape.
Then I go firewire from the camera to my PC and play the tape to capture it on my PC editing program.

Wondering if there is a way to bypass the camera and capture straight from the FCP timeline to my PC?

I am basically hoping to take out the step of recording it onto tape?

any thoughts, advice??? thanks in advance!
__________________
Jay
----------------------------
Sony VX2100 cam; FCP 5.0.4
Jay Voog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2006, 05:30 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL USA
Posts: 722
Interesting idea... sound feasible.

I'd give it a try!
Nick Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2006, 05:45 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 86
when i have tried going from my mac to pc with a firewire connection, it doesn't recognize my mac, so therefore when i try playing the sequence, the PC doesn't see it.

so i am just wondering if anyone has ideas how this could work...would i need another device? card? something?

is there a way to network the 2 computers through firewire?

hoping someone has an idea without needing some device to bridge the gap (skipping the camera).
__________________
Jay
----------------------------
Sony VX2100 cam; FCP 5.0.4
Jay Voog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2006, 06:02 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
You could boot your mac in firewire target mode (I believe you hold down the T key and restart). Then your mac will behave just like a firewire disk. However, it will be a MacOSX disk which your PC won't recognize without some special software. And then you would have the issue of different file formats, etc.

Also, if you experiment plugging the mac and pc together via the firewire ports you might have some concern about blowing the port on one or both of the computers. I don't think I would mess with that personally.

If you use an external firewire drive you could format it as a PC disk and the Mac will recognize it without problem. Then you could plug that disk into your PC and copy any files you want.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2006, 06:16 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 86
thanks for your comments Boyd.

i was actually trying to think of a way to play the sequence and record it live on my PC instead of just transferring the quicktime movie file, but not sure if that would be possible based on your comments. i don't come across too much on the technical side of things, so thanks for pointing some things out to me, i appreciate it.
__________________
Jay
----------------------------
Sony VX2100 cam; FCP 5.0.4
Jay Voog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2006, 06:33 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL USA
Posts: 722
You might could pull this off with 2 DV cams if you have them... just send the Mac output through FW to one cam, take the video out from that one to the input on another DV cam connected to your PC by firewire. I think it would probably look OK using s-video, but I wouldn't do composite.
Nick Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2006, 11:11 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Voog
thanks for your comments Boyd.

i was actually trying to think of a way to play the sequence and record it live on my PC instead of just transferring the quicktime movie file, but not sure if that would be possible based on your comments. i don't come across too much on the technical side of things, so thanks for pointing some things out to me, i appreciate it.
The answer is most likely no. While running the NLE programs both your PC and Mac are looking for a FireWire device that has the electronic signature of a DV (or HDV) deck to feed the video signal to or record from. This is why the programs don't mistake a FireWire drive for a videodeck. Neither of them are able to recognize each other as both are computers looking for devices on a firewire bus. I'm sure someone could (or maybe has) create a hack that overrides the signature. I'm not sure if you would want to use with it as I could imagine a lot of problems with a computer behaving as a proxy video deck.

Stay with the tape method or work with QuickTime files.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2006, 02:00 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 595
IP Over Firewire may be another option for you. Mac to Mac it works fine. XP supports the protocol, however I've never tried connecting a PC and Mac together using Firewire. In THEORY it should work.

See: http://developer.apple.com/hardwared..._firewire.html
Chris Hocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2006, 02:02 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 595
Confirmed. Yes it can be done.

See:
http://www.macosxhints.com/article.p...31112091634533
http://www.lifehacker.com/software/n...ire-173973.php
Chris Hocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2006, 08:16 AM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hocking
I have done it without any additional programs. I have connected my Mac and Compaq notebook together via FW. Works great!

Jay's idea is an interesting one. On the PC, you would need to be running an application such as Scenealyzer which does A/V capture via FW. I'm going to give it a try and see what I come up with.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:18 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network