I captured some clips in FCP... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 30th, 2006, 06:59 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 189
I captured some clips in FCP...

I used my school's computer to capture downconverted DV footage from an HDV camera. I'm not a mac user, so please excuse my ignorance.

I captured some clips in final cut pro as quicktime files, then burned them onto a dvd. The whole point in doing this was so I could use those files on my home computer, a PC. However, when I got home and inserted the dvd, the files were not quicktime, the format just says File. Furthermore, when I try to take the File and put it on my hard drive, my computer crashes/restarts.

I don't know if something happened when I burned the DVD or if you capture in FCP, those files can only be on a mac.

Anyone know what is going on?

Thank You
Joe Riggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2006, 07:42 PM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 595
Some of the exports functions in Final Cut Studio do not add a extension by default as Mac's don't require file extensions.

There are several differences in the way Macs and PCs deal with files. On a PC, a file appears as a single sequence of bytes which can store any type of information. On a Mac there can be two separate parts to a file called forks that are linked to one name. But anyway, that's not important.

The quick fix is to just rename "testmovie" to "testmovie.mov". Your Windows version of Quicktime will now recognise that "testmovie" is in fact a Quicktime file. That fixes your first problem.

But as for your computer crashing - I have no idea. I've had no issues burning Quicktime files to CD/DVD and then opening/copying them on a Windows-based system. Something is obviously making Windows unhappy. My only suggestion is to try and burn the DVD again. You should just be able to drag your Quicktime files on the Mac to the Blank DVD icon on the desktop and away you go.

Maybe try opening the DVD's content on another PC.

Hope this helps!

Chris Hocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2006, 07:52 AM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 189
I think I figured it out, my Sony DVD DL drive was causing the problem, I don't know why or how but I have had other issues with it and would not recommend buying one.

I tried a different DVD drive and that worked with the exception of larger files, 800mb+, at times I would get a redundant cycle error. I chalk that up to it just being an old drive.
Joe Riggs is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:28 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network