Widescreen in FCE at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 31st, 2003, 03:50 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London
Posts: 189
Widescreen in FCE

Hi - if I shoot my footage (on an XM-2), with the widescreen guides switched on, what must I then do in Final Cut Express so that my exported movie is in widescreen format?

Is it simply a matter of using the crop tool and chopping the image down to the guides or are there some settings hiding away somehere that I can select (can't see anything in the manual about this)...

Thanks.
Justin Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2003, 06:07 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canberra AUSTRALIA
Posts: 169
In FCP you can use a filter, Matt, widecreen, and choose the ratio you want. Doesn't FCE have a similar filter?
Andrew Hogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2003, 02:17 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London
Posts: 189
I may be mistaken but I don't think it does have a filter called 'matt widescreen'. :(
Justin Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2003, 01:18 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London
Posts: 189
Sorry, I WAS mistaken - there is a widescreen matte filter. Thanks for that.

On to the next part of the question - If I use one of the widescreen filters, how will the footage look when it is played back on a television. I want the footage to play undistorted - with relative black bars at the top and bottom - NOT squashed horizontally nor viertically to make it 'fill' the screen when played on either a widescreen OR standard TV. Thanks.
Justin Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2003, 07:20 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 390
I believe a widescreen matte filter would just put those black bars at the top and bottom, hence the 'matte' in the name. If this is the case then it will play fine on a normal TV, should be just like what you see in the monitor.
__________________
alextaylor.org
Alex Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2003, 04:58 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canberra AUSTRALIA
Posts: 169
yes it will play back fine on a "normal" 4:3 TV. If you want it to fill a widescreen TV though it does take a bit more work. How are you going to output the video? to tape or DVD? and do you need it to fill the screen on a widescreen tv?

If you do, then to avoid having black bars on top bottom left and right then theres more work to do
Andrew Hogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2003, 02:20 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London
Posts: 189
I'm going to be burning to DVD. Due to the fact that there are many widescreen formats, when it plays on a widescreen TV I want it to fill the screen horizontally as best it can and put in relative black bars at the top and bottom (same as on a 4:3 TV) ie NO stretching of the image - yuk!
Justin Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2003, 06:37 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canberra AUSTRALIA
Posts: 169
ok. well to make it fit your widescreen TV (you are using PAL system yeah?) then this is what I have done to make it work for me and my widescreen TV. It'll play back with black bars top and bottom on a 4:3 TV but will fill almost all the height of a widescreen TV and all its width.

you need to matte to 1:78 your sequence, export that as a self contained FCP movie. Import it back into FCP. Create a new sequence. Make that sequence Amamorphic (CTRL click from the browser and adjust the seq properties by clicking anamorphic check box. Double click your imported self contained movie and it displays in the viewer. Drag this movie to the Canvas Overwrite option. Then double click on it in the timeline, which displays it in the viewer and then in there change the scale to 126%. render.
Then when expirting out of FCP choose MPEG2 option, and make to slect in options to export as 16x9. Make sure too that when in DVDSP that you state that that track is 16x9. Then do a test burn to make sure you are happy with the scale size and lost resolution

Its not that hard. I had to figuere it all out for myself last week. Goodluck!
Andrew Hogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2003, 02:19 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London
Posts: 189
Wow - that's quite complicated.

Thanks very much.

Justin
Justin Morgan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network