Anyone using Final Cut Studio on the new Intel iMacs? How does it perform? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 28th, 2006, 08:12 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 59
Anyone using Final Cut Studio on the new Intel iMacs? How does it perform?

Hi.

Is anyone using Final Cut Studio on the new Intel iMacs? How does it perform?

Apple said that FCS can be used on the new iMacs (even the 20inch) as long as you max out the 3gb requirement.

But is there anyone with direct experience?

I know I eventually need to go to Mac Pro but right now I'm unemployed and want to learn FCS.

Any info will help.

Gilbert
Gilbert Labossiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2006, 10:54 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 373
I am not using it yet. However, when i purchased my 20" iMac a couple months ago, the lady on the phone checked the specs and said that FCS would run well on it. I didn't max the ram to 3gb, but i did get it at 2gb. I'll probably be purchasing FCS for that machine in Feb 07. If you can wait that long, I'll let you know what I find when I start using it on that machine.
Lisa Shofner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2006, 11:12 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 59
Thanks. I may get it before you if I get any positive responses here but thanks again!
Gilbert Labossiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2006, 11:36 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 451
I am using FCP Studio on a Macbook Pro with 2GB RAM and 1TB Expresscard RAID.

The performance is fine by any standard. People say rendering in FCP is slow but I haven't found it to be slow. The dual cores rip through the rendering.

TT
Tony Tremble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2006, 12:24 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 206
FCP Studio 5.1.2 works like a dream on my 20" Intel Imac 2.0 with 2GB ram and 256mb sti graphics card. Faster in most cases than my G5 2.7 at work...
__________________
www.CodemanStudios.com
Cody Lucido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2006, 02:24 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 59
Thank you everyone! I just placed my order for FCS
Gilbert Labossiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 11:11 AM   #7
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Gilbert,

Just so you have a reference: I'm using FCP 5.1.2 on the MacPro w/8GB RAM, two Cinema displays (30" & 23"), KONA LH/e and an external SCSI array using the ATTO UL5D. So far, no glitches and the render speeds are amazing for DVCPRO-HD.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:41 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network