Buying a new Hard Drive at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 8th, 2007, 10:42 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Odessa, TX
Posts: 93
Buying a new Hard Drive

I have somewhat of a dillema at hand.

I have a client I promised to archive a project for and have had to revisit the project several times in the past 2 months to make more copies or change something small, Each and every time I get paid well, and I get tons of referrals from this client, so its worth spending some bucks on. I am planning on buying a hard drive to archive this particular project on so i dont have to recapture from tape again.

Here is what I am debating. My main hard drive in my G5 is a 160GB drive. Its a perfect size for me, and stores exactly what I need it to with quite a bit of space left over. It is 2 years old, sees everyday use, and im somewhat nervous about this drive as my main drive for everyday work. Im thinking about turning this drive into my archive drive for this project, and buying a new main drive. Would it be worth the extra pennies and speed to get a 150GB WD raptor for my main drive as it is 10000RPM. Would I just be throwing my money out the window? could this get me another year or 2 out of this computer? or would I be better in investing in a little bit more ram and just get a cheap drive for my archive

System Specs:

Dual G5 2.5Ghz
2.5GB RAM
160GB Mac OS Drive
400GB Seagate for my video stuff
__________________
Tim Harry
Bandwagon Media
Odessa, TX
www.bandwagonhd.com
Timothy Harry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2007, 10:53 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
We acquired a similar system that was configured by someone else with a 10000 RPM drive. I wouldn't waste money on it if I were you. If it were me, I'd get another 400GB seagate and put your 150GB in an external Firewire enclosure. Checkout the Traydock from Wiebetech. It lets you put your disks in trays and swap them.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 06:28 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 796
If you are willing to spend a little more, I'd get a LaCie or G-Tech. We have six (3 of each) for archiving and from time to time when an edit is needed on an old project, I just open up the the project and relink the files to the LaCie or G-Tech and edit directly form it. No need to transfer files backto your main capture scratch.
__________________
Dave Perry Cinematographer LLC
Director of Photography Editor Digital Film Production 540.915.2752 daveperry.net
Dave Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 04:02 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Odessa, TX
Posts: 93
awesome.

thanks guys
__________________
Tim Harry
Bandwagon Media
Odessa, TX
www.bandwagonhd.com
Timothy Harry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 04:07 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernest House
We acquired a similar system that was configured by someone else with a 10000 RPM drive. I wouldn't waste money on it if I were you. If it were me, I'd get another 400GB seagate and put your 150GB in an external Firewire enclosure. Checkout the Traydock from Wiebetech. It lets you put your disks in trays and swap them.
What a waste of speed to put that 150G in a fire wire enclosure. Your transfer rates will diminish to around 1/3 of the normal speed. If you want to use an external disk use eSATA connections.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 07:31 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
The 2.5GHz dual G5 doesn't have an eSata port so a PCI host card would have to be added. Also, the performance tests at Bare Feats on a single drive comparing FW800 vs Sata show marginal difference. Sometimes the FW800 is faster.

http://www.barefeats.com/hard51.html
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2007, 09:27 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thousand Oaks
Posts: 1,095
This is probably beating a dead horse, although on paper the firewire 800 appears comparable to eSATA I haven't really found that to be the case. In fact often times I get better performance from FW400 than I have with FW800.

I imagine it has something to do with the controllers and drivers. But in production SATA has always outperformed firewire.

Firewire still has some benefits over SATA, more people have it so you can share it easier but if your not moving your drives around much I'd definitely go with SATA.
Chuck Spaulding is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:19 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network