TC breaks with Decklink or Kona in FCP? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 16th, 2007, 02:11 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Larkspur, CA
Posts: 378
TC breaks with Decklink or Kona in FCP?

I still have not heard or read a definitive answer on this.

When digitizing the BR-HD50U with a capture card (in FCP) are you all still getting TC warnings or breaks as is the case with straight HDV over firewire?

For those of you who have done some testing, I was also curious if digitizing HDMI behaves differently than component- more sensative to TC breaks or not.

Lastly, I would love to hear why anyone chose Kona over Decklink or vice versa. To me the Decklink HD Studio (HDMI & component) seems like the perfect companion to the BR-HD50U deck. Intensity looks like a steal but I need XLR outs.

Kona LH looks great but input would be analog- does it really matter?

Thanks for any input as many of us are in the middle of transitioning to HD. Just like to say that this board has been imeasurably useful as a resource for many.

Best.
Justin Ferar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 09:15 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Justin,

No. You tend not to have these problems when using capture cards.

FCP and firewire HDV seems to be extra sensitive to any sort of dropout or TC inconsistency.

Capturing HDMI won't work (yet) with the BR-HD50 because of HDCP. I read somewhere (I think on the Convergent site) that JVC will provide a firmware update in the future to turn off HDCP on the HDMI output. As far as I know HDMI does not contain TC data, so you would need to use firewire or RS-422 for control and TC.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 01:26 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Larkspur, CA
Posts: 378
Tim, Thanks for the reply. Music to my ears.

Regarding the HDMI and the BR-HD50U- I've been watching my footage using this connection with my HDCP complient consumer monitor. If it works for monitoring shouldn't it work for digitizing with Decklink/Kona?

Hmm.
Justin Ferar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 01:51 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Ferar
Tim, Thanks for the reply. Music to my ears.

Regarding the HDMI and the BR-HD50U- I've been watching my footage using this connection with my HDCP complient consumer monitor. If it works for monitoring shouldn't it work for digitizing with Decklink/Kona?

Hmm.
HDCP embedded signals are ignored by capture cards. The idea is to prevent you from plugging your PS3, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD player into the capture card and making digital perfect pirated copies of Hollywood movies.

Therefore, it doesn't really make sense to have HDCP on the output of a professional deck, unless it is required to present a HDMI signal on a HDCP compliant display?
The recent availability of HDMI capture cards is probably why JVC will change the firmware at some point to enable/disable HDCP when needed.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 01:51 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burbank
Posts: 1,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Ferar
TRegarding the HDMI and the BR-HD50U- I've been watching my footage using this connection with my HDCP complient consumer monitor. If it works for monitoring shouldn't it work for digitizing with Decklink/Kona?

Hmm.
Here is a short definition of HDCP that explains why it wouldn't work--the monitor decrypts the signal:
http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/H/HDCP.html

Here is a more complete explanation of HDCP:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-Ba...ent_Protection
Jack Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 02:24 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Larkspur, CA
Posts: 378
Okay, I get it now. If the deck doesn't get a handshake from the card then no dice.

Thanks for the link.
Justin Ferar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2007, 09:41 PM   #7
Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Dashwood
Capturing HDMI won't work (yet) with the BR-HD50 because of HDCP. I read somewhere (I think on the Convergent site) that JVC will provide and firmware update in the future to turn off HDCP on the HDMI output. As far as I know HDMI does not contain TC data, so you would need to use firewire or RS-422 for control and TC.
Hi Tim-
We have beta code for the HD50 which turns off the HDCP. JVC has indicated that the software will be released before the end of Jan. You are correct, HDMI is video and audio and does not contain TC. We have a 1394 connection to the deck to do deck control and read the TC. We experience essentially no TC breaks with our HD-Connect MI box.

We start shipping next week.
__________________
Mike Schell
Convergent Design
Mike Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2007, 10:32 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 14
HDMI capture

So has anyone heard yet if this has been resolved. With the new products from Convergent and Blackmagic it would be soon right?
Cecil Searcy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2007, 11:11 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 12
Version 1.08 is up

Firmware update for the BR-HD50 is up and I have updated my deck. However,
My Blackmagic Intesity card still doesn't recognize the deck. Anyone else have any luck?

Evan
Evan Gardner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2007, 06:31 PM   #10
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 2
Same here

We're having the same problem capturing via Blackmagic Intensity... Had to end up buying a Kona LHe and capturing Analog HD via Component cables... But still unable to get the RS-422A TC to work properly with Deck Control... When trying to capture via intensity video comes up all green.. damn HDCP... and FYI Intensity and Kona Cards are in seperate Mac Pros.. not both in the same computer.. anyone else care to comment?
Jason Gurnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2007, 06:40 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Larkspur, CA
Posts: 378
Do you guys have the capture settings at 720p60 on the Intensity?

Or,

Now that the firmware has been updated do you need to manually switch off the HDCP in the HD50 menu?
Justin Ferar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2007, 04:49 PM   #12
Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Gurnick View Post
We're having the same problem capturing via Blackmagic Intensity... Had to end up buying a Kona LHe and capturing Analog HD via Component cables... But still unable to get the RS-422A TC to work properly with Deck Control... When trying to capture via intensity video comes up all green.. damn HDCP... and FYI Intensity and Kona Cards are in seperate Mac Pros.. not both in the same computer.. anyone else care to comment?
Hi Jason-
The Vr 1.08 firmware on the HD50 definitely turns off the HDCP. We have been testing this setup extensivley with our HD-Connect MI box with great results. The scene breakup problems are gone as well as the time-code breaks. You can get 1080i, 720p or SD (via the HD/SD-SDI output) and it plays all the various JVC formats: 720p60/50/30/25/24.
__________________
Mike Schell
Convergent Design
Mike Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2007, 12:25 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Pedro, California
Posts: 108
Hey Mike where can I get one of these HD-Connect MI box? I'd really like to solve my tc break problems. thanks

Manny
__________________
Manny Rodriguez
Manny Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2007, 10:05 AM   #14
Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 869
Check out B&H, they have the HD-Connect MI in stock.
__________________
Mike Schell
Convergent Design
Mike Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2007, 09:57 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Pedro, California
Posts: 108
thanks mike
__________________
Manny Rodriguez
Manny Rodriguez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network