XH-A1 Capturing issues at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 17th, 2007, 12:08 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 17
XH-A1 Capturing issues

I am capturing the test footage off my camera so i switch it to vcr/play and switch the AV-DV in signal setup to ON. I set my capture presets in FCP 5.1.2 as follows
sequence preset: HDV 1080p24
capture preset: HDV Apple Intermediate Codec
Device Control Preset: HDV Firewire

it was the only was i could get picture to show up in the capture mode, the only problem is i can only capture on the fly and not batch capture. Can anyone tell me what i am doing wrong?

The other thing is after i have captured the footage this way i have to render it in the timeline, another thing that has me baffled.

So i guess in short, can anyone please tell me a better way to do this?
Rick Sharf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 12:57 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 17
i tired to use the easy set-ups but it wouldnt recognize my camera. I tried hdv 1080p24.
Rick Sharf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 01:52 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
Hi Rick

If your clip settings do not match your sequence settings then you will have to render .... you have set your sequence to HDV 1080p24 but are capturing using the Apple Intermediate Codec (it transcodes the footage to AIC). Change your sequence settings to AIC and you shouldn't have to render.

Have you checked the HD & Broacdcast Formats manual that shipped with Final Cut (also available from FCP's Help menu)? There is a section in there on using the Canon XL-H1 (can't promise it'll work the same way for your model, but its a start)

Cheers
Andy
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 11:49 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 17
the Apple Intermediate Codec takes up much more room and doesnt really seem worth it. Besides what is stated in the text have you noticed any benefits for using AIC over capturing without it?
Rick Sharf is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network