Final Cut Pro 5 - HDV workflow? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 25th, 2007, 12:35 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 36
Final Cut Pro 5 - HDV workflow?

Hello everyone, I'm not very smart. Is there a thread somewhere or does somebody know of a link for HDV workflow using FCP5 for dummies like me?

In other words, is there a workaround that allows you to edit in real time without rendering every single time you cut?

Also, when I go to log and capture, I only have one option and that's to name my clip. I can't preview or anything, but I'm assuming I'll need a beefy video card or something in order to have that luxury.

So, just looking for a few pointers, hoping there are others out there like me.
Benji Wade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 01:00 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 36
Please feel free to move this to the proper forum. Sorry, I didn't see the Mac / FCP subforum.
Benji Wade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 01:40 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London, uk
Posts: 99
Make sure your sequence is in the right format- if its a HDV sequence, then you wont need to render every clip, and can edit hdv natively.

Before i start a project, i usually use 'easy setup' to make sure everything is set up for the format im working in.

if youve already started a project, goto sequence, setting, and make sure its all set up for your type of hdv.

What mac have you got? Editing HDV on the fly does use more beef, but i manage to get by using a bottom of the range mac mini (although it struggles at times). Usually i transcode to apple intermediate format- more hd space, but uses less CPU beef.

Hope that helps
Peter Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 01:54 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Ford
Make sure your sequence is in the right format- if its a HDV sequence, then you wont need to render every clip, and can edit hdv natively.

Before i start a project, i usually use 'easy setup' to make sure everything is set up for the format im working in.

if youve already started a project, goto sequence, setting, and make sure its all set up for your type of hdv.

What mac have you got? Editing HDV on the fly does use more beef, but i manage to get by using a bottom of the range mac mini (although it struggles at times). Usually i transcode to apple intermediate format- more hd space, but uses less CPU beef.

Hope that helps
that's very helpful, but it still requires me to edit anything I take from my bin and place in the timeline...is that normal? This footage was taken from an Canon HV-10 so I assume it's only capable of 1080i 60. That's what I've set the sequence for and it still requires me to render everything. Maybe I am as clueless as I thought!
Benji Wade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 02:00 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 36
I think I figured it out. Last time, I had used Apple's Intermediate codec (I think) and sent it into a DV timeline. That's how clueless I am.

So I have to recapture everything native HDV and then send it to my HDV timeline to edit native.

Do I understand all this correctly? Using the Intermediate codec will save, what, hard drive space and processor? But you'll then have to render everything before putting it in a timeline?
Benji Wade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 02:05 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 36
Nevermind, just read Apple's synopsis of its intermediate codec. It basically stretches everything out on your hard drive but saves the processor from working too hard.

By the way, I'm on a duocore G5 2.0ghz with 1.0 gigs of RAM.
Benji Wade is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network