Multiclip editing is so slow.... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 29th, 2007, 01:59 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 505
Multiclip editing is so slow....

I have four HDV clips (different angles of the same music event) that I'm editing as a multiclip, but the realtime editing playback is very jerky and almost impossible to edit (there's a huge time lag between me clicking on the angle and it changing). Is there some setting I'm missing to speed this process up? I'm using a Mac Pro 2.6GHz with 4GB RAM, and reading the clips off internal 7200 SATA drives. Surely multiclip eding shouldn't be as slow as this? The Mac Activity Monitor shows the CPU's being far from maxed out.

Thanks
Greg
Greg Quinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2007, 02:55 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
4 angles of HDV work pretty well on my dual 2.0 G5. So yes, something is up on your machine. Any effects on the clips comprising the multiclip?
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2007, 03:28 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
i'd agree with Nate, 4 streams of HDV is not much considering the capabilities of your hardware... how many other apps do you have running? is the performance improved by a restart?
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2007, 10:04 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 505
Thanks for the replies and confirmation - I'm not at the machine now, but will try a complete reboot later. Would the multiclip display be affected by the type of codec used in the sequence (i.e. if it was using uncompressed)?
Greg Quinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2007, 12:03 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mariposa, CA
Posts: 200
I would make sure that there are no filters or motion changes made to your clips. Then, check to make sure the sequence setup matches your clips 100%. It sounds like the kind of behavior when your computer is attempting some RT changes while doing multicam.
Patrick Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2007, 12:20 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Quinn
Thanks for the replies and confirmation - I'm not at the machine now, but will try a complete reboot later. Would the multiclip display be affected by the type of codec used in the sequence (i.e. if it was using uncompressed)?
Absolutely.

I'm confused, you said you were using HDV streams in your original post. HDV streams are about 3.5mbytes/sec. An uncompressed stream is about 100mbytes/sec...a HUGE difference. Unless you have at least a 4 drive SATA RAID, you're not going to be able to play back even a single uncompressed stream, much less 4. 4 would be insane.

You should do some reading on format data rates and how they effect editing.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2007, 02:17 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Weaver
Absolutely.

I'm confused, you said you were using HDV streams in your original post. HDV streams are about 3.5mbytes/sec. An uncompressed stream is about 100mbytes/sec...a HUGE difference. Unless you have at least a 4 drive SATA RAID, you're not going to be able to play back even a single uncompressed stream, much less 4. 4 would be insane.

You should do some reading on format data rates and how they effect editing.
Thanks Nate, points well taken. I made a mistake, I ended up converting the HDV to AIC, which is uncompressed. I'm still fooling around trying to find a workable workflow on the Mac for 24P and the V1U.
Thanks again.
Greg Quinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2007, 02:35 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Quinn
Thanks Nate, points well taken. I made a mistake, I ended up converting the HDV to AIC, which is uncompressed.
Eh...Greg, AIC isn't uncompressed :-) Uncompressed is uncompressed.

It's usually about 13megs/sec. But that's enough to cause some problems on some machines.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2007, 04:39 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Weaver
Eh...Greg, AIC isn't uncompressed :-) Uncompressed is uncompressed.

It's usually about 13megs/sec. But that's enough to cause some problems on some machines.
...hence the "codec" part of AIC - my bad. Without thinking, I assumed that because AIC file sizes were huge, it wasn't compressed, which of course was dumb.
Greg Quinn is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:17 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network