Monitoring Audio in Log & Capture mode?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 30th, 2007, 06:49 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Concord, MA
Posts: 53
Monitoring Audio in Log & Capture mode??

XL-H1 connected to MacBook Pro via firewire (Easy Setup: HDV - 1080i60 Firewire Basic). In FCP 5+ "Log and Capture" mode I cannot seem to monitor (hear) audio through the Macbook while playing source tape.

The audio signal is definitely coming into the computer as captured clips have associated audio. I CAN monitor the audio by attaching phones to jack on board the camera.

I must be overlooking a setting????

Thanks for your help.
__________________
D.Walton
Dick Walton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2007, 09:56 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 18
Disabled with HDV

I could be wrong, but I think because of the way FCP deals with HDV there's no way to monitor audio through the computer during capture. With DV ingest when you go under the "Clip Settings" tab in the log & capture window there's a little check mark for monitoring audio during capture but I believe this option is disabled for HDV.

If I had to venture a guess i would think it might have to do with FCP transcoding the audio from compressed to AIFF - again that's just a thought.
Pete Schwab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2007, 12:56 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 195
Audio through Capture

The only way to preview audio while capturing is to get the audio signal from the deck or camera during capture. I don't have my manual but it was early on in the manual that it discusses that.

Jeff
Jeff Mack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2007, 01:24 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Concord, MA
Posts: 53
Not on capture but with capture window open

I am not trying to preview audio during the actual capture process (although that would be nice). I am simply trying to monitor the audio (using my computer's built-in speakers or attached head phones) while the capture window is OPEN and I am playing the source tape.
__________________
D.Walton
Dick Walton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2007, 09:49 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 195
FCP won't output audio during capture. It's in the manual early on. I'm a new user and I went through the same thing.

Jeff
Jeff Mack is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network