Has anyone got final Cut Pro to recognise their A1 in HDV mode??? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 4th, 2007, 04:56 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nottingham, UK.
Posts: 11
Has anyone got final Cut Pro to recognise their A1 in HDV mode???

I have just recently overhauled my studio. I have a brand new Mac Pro, A Canon Xh-A1 and have updated to FCP 5.1.2 to enable compatability with my Canon 25F footage - Or so I thought!

My problem is, no matter what I try I can't get the programme to see the Camera in anything other than DV mode. I have tried most of the easy setup options and have tried to configure it through customising my audio/video settings to no avail.

Has anyone cracked this yet??? Or am I going to have to wait for a Codec Specificall for this camera. Any help/suggestions would be greatly apprecieted as I would love to actually see what HD looks like!!!!!
Sebastion Meddings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2007, 05:24 PM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Moved from Canon XH to NLE Mac.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2007, 08:15 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 30
I am having the exact same problem. I have imovie HD and just bought the A1 and have a macbook pro. On imovie it wasnt accessible with my camera even though its (imovie HD) I dont get that..

So then i switched to final cut and it wont take my camera unless it's in DV. I WANT HD!!! SOMEONE HELP!
Dean Collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 12:27 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 451
I have a MBP and have no problems talking to the XH-A1.

Does the DV IN/Out indication come up on the LCD or VF on the camera?

Are you in VCR mode on the camera?

Have you tried a different DV cable?

Did you use on of the Easy set ups in FCP?

TT
Tony Tremble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 01:30 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nottingham, UK.
Posts: 11
Well I finally sussed it. It turns out that my camera was set to Downconvert to DV mode, hence the reason why it was only picking up a DV signal. Feel like a bit of wally but really glad it was a simple fix!
Sebastion Meddings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 01:31 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 30
I did all that except I have a really old firewire. Do i need a certain fire-wire for the camera to work with imovie and FCP?
Dean Collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 10:50 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 430
I got my A1 yesterday and shot a few minutes of stuff out of the window to see how FCP would handle it. I got confused with the easy set up because i'm in pal land couldn't find anything saying 25f so i went with 1080 25p which seemed to do the trick. The capture window is different to DV, and the footage had an orange render bar over it on arrival though it played quite well unrendered. Apart from that its business as usual. generally speaking i go to LAFCPUG (los angeles FCP users group site) for my queries on this kind of issue.
Dom Stevenson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network