where is my canvas window? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 16th, 2003, 10:11 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 355
where is my canvas window?

i hate to be om here every day with such dumb questions but you guys are really helpful. todays problem: edited my finshed piece in timeline, used print to video to dub to beta. came in this morning and opened my project and only the viewer window and clips appear. no timeline. where is it?
thanks again.
Gary Chavez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2003, 12:08 PM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Hi Gary,

Open up FCP, go across the menu bar at the top>window>check mark next to what you want open, close FCP and it will be fine the next time you start up FCP.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2003, 01:01 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 355
hey Jeff, thanks for the responce, except that canvas window not highlighted. cant check it.
Gary Chavez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2003, 01:23 PM   #4
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Open up the browser and double click on the sequence, Canvas should open. If not, do steps above.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2003, 01:28 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 355
it works as you describe except for the specific project that i want to work on. does using Print to Video see that function as some kind of terminal use of the timeline and dump it or hide it somewhere?
Gary Chavez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2003, 01:47 PM   #6
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Print to video takes over the timeline and gives you a start/stop button. A pop window says something to the effect of start recording with your camera/VTR and press the start button. Sorry, I'm not at my editing computer and FCP isn't on my laptop.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2003, 01:58 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 355
Jeff
thanks for trying, im just gonna re-edit my piece, clips are all still there. hey, im one of the "regular crew" now. maybe one soon i can contribute!
Gary Chavez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2003, 01:37 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 41
Canvas window and timeline linked

This is not an uncommon occurance, but can be quite startling when first experienced. By the symptoms described it would seem Gary did not have a sequence open in the FCP project he started in the morning.

Because the Canvas window shows you the frame where your playhead is in your timeline, if you do not have an open sequence, neither your Canvas or your timeline will appear (there is no frame to show, as there is no sequence in the timeline for the playhead to be parked over). Gary tells us that when he went to Window in the top menu, Canvas was greyed out. I am willing to bet he would have seen that Timeline was greyed out as well.

Give it a try. Open a project with sequences open in the timeline. Now right click (control click) on each sequence tab in the timeline and choose "Close Tab". Do this with all the sequence tabs, and when you close the last tab, your Canvas window and your Timeline window will disappear. Go to the Window menu and you will see that both the Canvas and Timeline options are grey. Now, in your browser, double click on a sequence and both the Timeline and Canvas windows will come back up again. If you go to Window in the menu bar, you will see that both of these are selectable again.

Further, simply close either of these windows without closing the open sequences. When you go back to the Window menu you will see the window you closed has no check mark beside it. Select it, and the window reappears. You will also note that each window has a quick key combination to open and close it. Each quick key can also be used to bring a window to the front for working in. If you are setting motion properties in the viewer and want to copy attributes from one clip to the other in the timeline, learning these quick keys can save a number of mouse moves. Of course, the "Q" key will also toggle you between the Viewer and Canvas, which can be a real time saver.

Sorry about the long explanation, but as a FCP trainer, it is simply habit to cover questions thoroughly.
__________________
Duane E. Martin
Earth to Sky Productions
Apple Certified Trainer - FCP
Duane Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2003, 04:13 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 355
benn out shooting past 2 days, thanks much for the detailed reply. i will do as you suggest.
Gary Chavez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2004, 02:29 PM   #10
Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 932
Help!

Hi Gary... the same thing you discribe has just happened to me.... how did you fix it? I even tried reinstalling FCP and the timeline window is nowhere to be found :S
__________________
Ignacio Rodríguez in the third world. @micronauta on Twitter. Main hardware: brain, eyes, hands.
Ignacio Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2004, 02:56 PM   #11
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Did you do as Duanne and I suggested? If you still can't find your canvas window, trash FCP preferences and restart. Re-installing doesn't always give you a new preferences file. Do a search and you'll find my instructions for deleting FCP preferences.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2004, 03:28 PM   #12
Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 932
I trashed two pref files and nothing changed. It is very strange...
__________________
Ignacio Rodríguez in the third world. @micronauta on Twitter. Main hardware: brain, eyes, hands.
Ignacio Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2004, 04:51 PM   #13
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
There are 3 preferences files that need to be deleted. Directions are here. Follow those directions and post back. If that doesn't work I'll need the information I asked in my prior post.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2004, 09:20 PM   #14
Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 932
Thank You Jeff... it worked. Love this place.
__________________
Ignacio Rodríguez in the third world. @micronauta on Twitter. Main hardware: brain, eyes, hands.
Ignacio Rodriguez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network