Capture scratch incorrect ... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 22nd, 2007, 09:07 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Whitman, Massachusetts
Posts: 168
Capture scratch incorrect ...

I have a problem that hasn't happened to me before. It's been about three months since I've used Final Cut Pro to capture raw material from miniDV tape.

I recently started a new project file, and set the scratch discs to my external hard drive. The problem is ... no matter what, when I go to capture new material, the program is taking matters into it's own hands and writing the files to my system hard drive rather than the external. Anyone know why this would be happening, it's really pretty annoying since the internal drive doesn't have all that much space. I figured I could just move them afterwards, but that's tedious in itself.

Anyone have an idea?

Matthew Overstreet
Matthew Overstreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2007, 09:27 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
What version of FCP are you running? Older versions were a little annoying. If you started up FCP and your external hard drive wasn't available, capture scratch would automatically be switched to the documents folder on your startup drive without any warning.

But ever since FCP 5, if the selected capture drive isn't available you get a dialog box with a warning which says in order to preserve the integrity of your project, you need to put your drive online or designate a new one.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2007, 11:09 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Whitman, Massachusetts
Posts: 168
I'm working with Final Cut Pro 4. Well, I figured out the problem. It basically wanted me to select a specific folder within the drive. Before today, whenever I started a project, I'd just select the drive as the scratch disc and it would create a seperate project folder on the drive along with capture scratch, autosave vault and all that. Not sure why it was being picky today, oh well. Thanks for your help though. I'm probably going to purchase the newest version of Final Cut Pro as soon as I buy a new iMac.

Matthew Overstreet
Matthew Overstreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2007, 06:17 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
I sort of thought you had an older version of FCP :-) Are you really running FCP 4? At minimum I'd suggest upgrading to FCP 4.5 which you can download at Apple's site for free:

http://www.apple.com/support/downloa...utprohd45.html
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network