Cineform Mac OS X Public Beta released at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 7th, 2007, 05:47 PM   #1
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Cineform Mac OS X Public Beta released

http://www.cineform.com/products/Dow...TrialStart.htm
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 11:03 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 29
What does the cineform codec offer?
Jason Nolte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 11:31 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 589
Thank you Tim!

I wonder if we can use existing clips captured from Cineform on the Wind-blows platform in FCP now?
__________________
Our eyes allow us to see the world - The lens allows others to see the world through our eyes.
RED ONE #977
Daniel Patton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2007, 08:42 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Patton View Post
Thank you Tim!

I wonder if we can use existing clips captured from Cineform on the Wind-blows platform in FCP now?
Apparently not yet, but I'm trying to find a cineform clip somewhere to download and test.

I haven't had any luck using the codec to export from MpegStreamclip. All I get is a white screen in Quicktime player.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2007, 04:23 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 589
I have a bunch of clips from the PC side, we use Aspect HD for all of our shoot to edit. I might be able to locate a small file to upload if you want to try it.
__________________
Our eyes allow us to see the world - The lens allows others to see the world through our eyes.
RED ONE #977
Daniel Patton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2007, 04:13 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Patton View Post
I have a bunch of clips from the PC side, we use Aspect HD for all of our shoot to edit. I might be able to locate a small file to upload if you want to try it.
Anything would be great. You can throw it in my .mac public folder if you want.
"timdashwood"
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2007, 10:33 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
It appears that avi files captured with AspectHD on XP can be directly opened in Quicktime on OS X when the Cineform codec is installed.

I haven't done direct comparisons yet, but from what I can tell the image seems to have many more compression artifacts than I'd expect from what I've read.

I plan to capture the same bit of footage on AspectHD and as m2t. I'll convert the m2t to AIC as well and see if the problem is just in the source HDV.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2007, 12:32 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 589
That's Great news Tim!

I was out of the office shooting most of last week so I didn't have a chance to try anything out, but from what I was reading I was starting to have serious doubts anyway. The documentation on the Cineform site kind of gave the impression that the Mac version might only read the Cineform files in the MOV/Quicktime format, since thats the wrapper used during Mac/Cineform encoding.

Have you output anything or is the artifacting maybe only visible in the preview monitor in your NLE? The reason I ask is that Aspect HD can look like crap in PPro2.0 during preview but looks fine on final output. It's easy to see that the realtime preview for Aspect HD in Premier is a lower quality setup to speed up editing.
__________________
Our eyes allow us to see the world - The lens allows others to see the world through our eyes.
RED ONE #977
Daniel Patton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2007, 12:20 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thousand Oaks
Posts: 1,095
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Patton View Post
That's Great news Tim!

Have you output anything or is the artifacting maybe only visible in the preview monitor in your NLE? The reason I ask is that Aspect HD can look like crap in PPro2.0 during preview but looks fine on final output. It's easy to see that the realtime preview for Aspect HD in Premier is a lower quality setup to speed up editing.
The quality of the output during playback from the NLE is adjustable, it depends largely on which graphics card your using. I have the FX540 with analog component HD out to a 42" plasma and initially I wasn't that impressed with the quality of the picture. After Cineform support told me how to adjust the graphics card things looked much better.
Chuck Spaulding is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network