HDV rendering in Native at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 17th, 2007, 01:17 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
HDV rendering in Native

I'm working on my first HDV project in FCP5.1.4 using my MBPro, 2.33. Looking at past posts it seems like if one edits cuts moving i/o points back and forth, rendering multiple times results in 'mucky' looking video since HDV has to conform these points due to GOP, I believe it's called.

But when one finally gets the i/o points one wants, if one deletes the render files and starts over rendering won't that obviate that?

And undoing renders to get back to the original state also obviates that, right?

thanks,
elmer
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2007, 08:26 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 157
This is a good question, i would be interested in the answer too as i've only owned fcp for a few days and have very little idea as to what is the optimal way to use it for retaining data integrity yet. I guess the question is, when you save/output your project and it saves/transmits the data from the frames that at one point might have been rendered as an i-frame does it use the previously rendered version of that frame or does it pull the frame information from it's information in the original "GOP data" on your harddisk? It seems like it would be logical to use the latter method but again I have no idea what i'm talking about when it comes to fcp.
Cal Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2007, 09:39 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
I use native HDV to offline whole projects. This way it is a very WYSIWYG experience. If the project is destined for broadcast downconversion or HDCAM, I then simply nest the HDV sequence into an uncompressed 8-bit sequence and render once. No generation loss.

If the project needs to be output back to m2t, then I will print to tape from the HDV ssequence. The nice thing about the way FCP handles HDV is that it only renders what NEEDS to be rendered, and keeps the rest of the frames intact.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:33 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network