5.1.4: Compressor quits-on-launch at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 27th, 2007, 11:23 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 125
5.1.4: Compressor quits-on-launch

We have a G5 which we just today upgraded to 5.1.4 & latest OS.

Compressor (v.2.3), whether launched alone or from within FCP, quits immediately upon launch.

No clue why.

Anyone else heard of this anomaly?

Scott
__________________
http://stratostream.com -- dance & fitness videos
Scott Shuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2007, 06:07 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fargo
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Shuster View Post
We have a G5 which we just today upgraded to 5.1.4 & latest OS.

Compressor (v.2.3), whether launched alone or from within FCP, quits immediately upon launch.

No clue why.

Anyone else heard of this anomaly?

Scott
Have you tried the basics, trash preferences, and repair permissions, followed by a reboot? If that doesn't work, try reinstalling Compressor.
Grant Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2007, 07:26 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 125
Thanks, Grant -- yes, did all of that...TWICE!

As Compressor still fails to open we have to conclude that as 5.1.4 is still new, there is probably some other piece of software in our computer that is causing this problem, but whose conflict with FCP is not yet known specifically. And who wants to wrestle with finding out what THAT is? We don't need to solve developers' problems: We just need to get back to work.

So....why don't I just buy BitVice instead? I mean, I've read about BitVice, and it seems to be a perfectly good replacement for Compressor, right?

So why should I wrestle with Compressor for another minute? I'm not the techy here, but if I can get buy-in this morning I'm going to tell them to buy and install BitVice and I'll bet we'll be full-steam-ahead right away.

I'd love to hear from any BitVice users about any anomalies or differences we should anticipate in using BitVice (which I never heard of before this morning at about 2:00am) instead of Compressor.
__________________
http://stratostream.com -- dance & fitness videos
Scott Shuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2007, 09:31 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 125
{**BLUSH!!**}

Turns out we had NOT done all the troubleshooting recommended on Apple's page...it was a {{*BLUSH! BLUSH!**} failure to scroll-down and see the 'delete receipts' guidance...

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=302845

I am, like SO EMBARRASSED!!

Compressor now opens and works perfectly.

"May this be the worst thing that befalls us today..."
__________________
http://stratostream.com -- dance & fitness videos
Scott Shuster is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:35 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network