Timecode problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 1st, 2007, 10:56 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 40
Timecode problem


I am trying to capture from my XL1 w/ final cut express, and it keeps stopping in the middle of captures, at erratic intervals w/ some sort of timecode error The clip plays just fine but it's a pain to have to stop in the middle, rewind a couple seconds, and continue capturing every four minutes or so. Then go back and trim and stitch all the clips together.

I am super green and know next to nothing about this kind of stuff, I don't even know what time code is.

So if someone could help me out or give some advice or suggestions, I would greatly appreciate it. Especially since I have about six hours of video to capture.

William Dortignac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2007, 06:37 PM   #2
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2
Timecode woes

It's really best for an editor if you capture your clips in meaningfully small segments and not dump the dv tape into one huge quicktime file. This is what the Log and Capture window is for in FCP. Go through your tape and mark the clips that you wish to import by setting in and out points. After you've set points for a single clip edit the information about that clip in the log and capture window then hit log. This creates a reference file for that small segment of the dv tape that tells an editor what is on that particular segment. Log each clip you wish to import from the tape. You will note that logging clips takes less time than babysitting a long capture because you can scrub through the tape quickly.

When you log a clip its reference file (named from a combination of the info you input about it) is considered 'offline.' Being offline means that FCP hasn't captured it from the tape yet. Once you've logged all the clips you want from that tape highlight all of them in the browser, right click, and select batch capture. Make sure the correct tape is in the camera, and FCP will take care of the rest capturing exactly the clips you've specified.

This SHOULD get rid of the timecode problems you are having. FCP is more apt to have timecode breaks when it's capturing very long clips. If you continue to have problems after logging all your clips then you will need to dub the miniDV tape to another miniDV tape as the one you are using is faulty.
Adam Trimble is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:58 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network