Radeon X1950 in Mac Pro? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 13th, 2007, 08:45 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Beijing, China
Posts: 30
Radeon X1950 in Mac Pro?

Anyone know if it's possible to use this card in the Mac Pro? I know Apple doesn't officially support it, but then, that doesn't necessarily mean it's not feasible. The 1950 seems to be more available here in China than the 1900, which must be ordered from Hong Kong and costs about $500+.
Steve Nettleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2007, 03:28 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: BOCa raton fl
Posts: 342
In a word no !

It will not work because it doesn't have the supported roms and firmware for the osx of apple. It will only work in windows .
Doug Tessler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2007, 05:34 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Beijing, China
Posts: 30
So much for that idea

Well, back to the drawing board. Is the X1900 XT really worth it? It is "highly recommeded" for the new FCS2 suite (Motion and Color). Will I miss it if I have the Nvidia 7300 GT?
Steve Nettleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2007, 05:38 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Everyone that I asked about that says yes! The ATI card is much better if you plan to use Motion and Color. If you really aren't, the Nvidia will be fine. The fact that the Nvidia is the minimum requirement that Color will except, the next version in about two years may push the card to almost obsolete. If you want the computer to last more than a few years, get the ATI card.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2007, 08:27 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 117
I can't make a comparison because I have no prior Mac experience, but I have the X1900 in my Mac Pro running one LCD and one Viewsonic 27" HD, and I have been very pleased.
Dick Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2007, 08:39 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Beijing, China
Posts: 30
It seems I'll just have to gulp and fork over the cash, then. It would be nice if Apple offered build-to-order options over here. Unfortunately, they have only one Mac Pro model. Any increases in RAM, graphics cards and hard disks are DIY, at full cost. Oh well...
Steve Nettleton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network