First Impressions of ProRes - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 28th, 2007, 11:31 AM   #16
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven D. Martin View Post
The ProRes and HDV clips looked fine, but the AIC clip was a full stop brighter in Color. This did not show up in FCP. Does anyone know how to account for this?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Chan View Post
It might be a Quicktime or Quicktime-Color bug. Before in Final Touch, you would get color errors for some formats so this could be the case.

Quicktime has a lot of inappropriate color management being applied bugs.
It's a display gamma issue, not a trancoding one. If you take the files in question and output via Kona or Decklink, they are fine. Quicktime player is applying an incorrect display gamma for ProRes.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2007, 11:08 AM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 295
Either way. Report it to Apple and make sure they know.

http://www.apple.com/feedback/finalcutpro.html
Gene Crucean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2007, 05:14 AM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Stroudsburg, PA
Posts: 72
ProRes for SD

Worthy noting is the SD version of the ProRes codec. If you still capture from analog such as Beta SP, using the ProRes SD verses uncompressed SD will save considerable hard drive space and has a bit rate of 46 Mb/s verses 176 Mb/s for 10 bit SD. Also worth exploring is transcoding from HDV to ProRes SD which should yield far superior results for typical SD broadcast than using most of these prosumer camcorders in DV or DVCAM mode when recording.

Transcoding from HDV to ProRes HD probably won't make much sence unless your mixing it with other ProRes HD footage derived from uncompresses media, or you plan to do a lot of compositing effects or keying to the clip. Delivery medium should also be considered.
__________________
JMM
www.jenacommunications.com

Last edited by Jerry Matese; May 30th, 2007 at 06:23 AM.
Jerry Matese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2008, 11:04 AM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 41
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Matese View Post
Also worth exploring is transcoding from HDV to ProRes SD which should yield far superior results for typical SD broadcast than using most of these prosumer camcorders in DV or DVCAM mode when recording.
This is extremely interesting to me as I just finished shooting 8 hours of HDV. When shooting I planned to crop the footage in post for SD DVD final program.

Due to the amount of footage I have been carefully researching the most efficient way to proceed and ProRes SD sounds great...

The link below shows how to capture from HDV directly into ProRes, I'm hoping there is a similar way to get my HDV into cropped 4:3 ProRes SD on capture.

http://edu.moviola.com/hdv_prores


Darren
Darren Shroeger is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:18 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network