Luma: 100 IRE vs 110 IRE at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 24th, 2007, 12:53 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Columbia, Maryland
Posts: 55
Luma: 100 IRE vs 110 IRE

Is 110 IRE OK? Before you jump, my material is not going out to broadcast, only DVD and direct play from the camera to an HDTV.

Although I captured with maximum white set to "white", I still got IRE 110.

Should I go ahead and use the extended dynamic range or is this bad territory even for non broadcast?

I just thought I would keep the dynamic range if it doesn't make any difference.

Rick Llewellyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2007, 12:55 PM   #2
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,100
Images: 1
You'll be okay for non-broadcast. The default white-clip setting on my XDCAM HD camera is 108.

Greg Boston is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:39 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network