What is your workflow - HDV 1080i to SD DVD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 10th, 2007, 01:37 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 17
What is your workflow - HDV 1080i to SD DVD

So I haven't bothered exporting my HD videos ( I use a XH-A1 & HV20 ) to SD DVD till now... I've burnt around 5 different DVD's with different settings using compressor and they all look really bad. I'm pretty confused about Field dominance settings ( actual project setting & setting in conversion in Compressor ) and if I should deinterlace in Compressor.

I'm a switcher as you can most likely tell, and at the same time of switching to Mac I went to HD...

So... What is your workflow to create a SD DVD from your HDV 1080i footage?
Paul Alberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2007, 05:59 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: cape town South-Africa
Posts: 251
Paul /


Mpeg streamclip / Freeware for mac and pc will solve a lot of your
problems.

Search the forum on related Mpeg streamclip issues/ or downconvert
HDV to SD issues. Encoders differ in quality and results.

I,m on Pc following some of the fundamentals posted by Jason Livingstone.
Have a look at his posts too / It will clear the processes involved.

Herman.
Herman Van Deventer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2007, 10:38 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 85
I'm making the leap you're using Final Cut. I recommend editing in HDV, then export a Quicktime movie and uncheck the "make movie self contained" box to make it reference movie (much faster and little disk space). Take that movie into compressor and use the presets for best DVD for whatever length. Then use the files created in DVD Studio Pro. I've had terrific results. No need to deinterlace and field dominance for HDV is upper.
Geoff Dills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2007, 10:51 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 77
It's a task to figure out, trust me

I don't know how Geoff got so lucky with his technique, but when I do exactly what he does I get jaggiez all over the place. The best way I've found is via the Bonzai Method (http://www3.telus.net/bonsai/Step-by-Step.html).

Another method I've tried that seems to work ok is by just letting DVDSP do the encoding instead of compressor, it looks a lot better.

Would HD DVD win already!!! Jeez, what a pain in the arse!
Josh Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2007, 12:15 AM   #5
Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: austin, tx
Posts: 300
your footage is 60i? most everything i've taken to dvd has been 24p (pulldown removed), and it might be worth deinterlacing your footage prior to export. i've had some really good results capture/editing in HDV or AIC, and then exporting directly to compressor to the "best quality" dvd settings. there really isn't a need to export/render out to a full QT or even a ref mov when you can go straight from FCP to compressor

here's a dvd .img (will auto download when clicked) you can burn it or mount it and check it out in a normal dvd player.

http://file.meyersproduction.com/hv2...ddo%203min.img
__________________
Compositing is my life right now.
IMDB page: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm3596782/
Austin Meyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2007, 06:54 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Simsbury, CT
Posts: 247
I'm with Geoff, I get good results with the presets in Compressor. Make sure you're using the most recent version of FCP 5 and Compressor 2 (I'm assuming you haven't upgraded to FCS 2) as I think some earlier versions had problems with field order or the like.
Dave Lammey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2007, 03:51 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Lammey View Post
I'm with Geoff, I get good results with the presets in Compressor. Make sure you're using the most recent version of FCP 5 and Compressor 2 (I'm assuming you haven't upgraded to FCS 2) as I think some earlier versions had problems with field order or the like.
Compressor 3 has not only much better user interface and extended functionality, but it seems doing the same jobs in much better quality (I would add: faster, too - although I dont have any comparison test results, just a feeling). I think it makes sense to upgrade to FCS2.

Other than that i follow the QT reference movie path - it works fine. I dont deinterlace, just drop the reference movie on compressor and let it do the job.
__________________
Sony XDCAM EX1r, Canon 5DMkII, Røde NTG2, Røde NT1000, Røde Stereo Videomic, Sachtler DV6 SB on Gitzo 1325V, Steadicam Merlin, Omnitracker, Hackintosh 3.5Ghz Quad 8Gb RAM
Zsolt Gordos is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network