Quicktime export re-renders everything FCP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 18th, 2007, 12:58 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
Quicktime export re-renders everything FCP

I have some very effects heavy sequences shot on xdcam hd that took ages to render. When I try to export them using the same sequence settings it re-renders them all again...is there anyway around this?

Thanks
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2007, 11:55 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 616
you're exporting quicktime? If you have self contained checked it takes longer to export. Unchecked it should be quick UNLESS you prject is not rendered. Then you have to keep in mind that your movie is not self contained, and relies on your project as well as all your renders and capture scratch. So you if you put the file on another computer it won't work.
Aric Mannion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2007, 01:37 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
Hi Aric

Yeah the project is fully rendered yet when i export as qucktime same as sequence settings it takes forever. Even when it isnt checked as self contained. Very odd
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2007, 01:02 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
any ideas? do I have a render setting wrong somewhere?
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2007, 01:09 PM   #5
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,757
Images: 15
Long-GOP file handling

Phil,

The reason it's taking so long is because XDCAM is a Long-GOP codec. If it were an "i"-frame type codec such as HDCAM, DVCPRO etc where every frame is independent from others then rendering wouldn't be such an issue.

The only way you can avoid this would be to use the Convergent Design box coupled with a KONA or BM card and convert the long-gop XDCAM into another codec during import/ingest or, using FCP 6 import into ProRes 422 which will do virtually the same thing, but that requires the HD IO from AJA. AFAIK.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2007, 01:25 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
Hi Robert

it's not that...it does it sometimes on DV sequences too...in the same project. Some take forever to export, some take seconds...all have heavy effects. Am stumped!
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2007, 04:36 PM   #7
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,757
Images: 15
That sounds more like a hardware related issue; HDD starting to go bad (or an array not talking properly if that's what you have), RAM or kernel panics getting in the way of data throughput OR... if you have an external E-SATA array that will definitely cause it because there is no controller cache on E-SATA setups of any kind, and when the drive cache fills up it will bog-down everything until the drives can purge themselves.

Fill in the blanks with exactly what hardware you have and I might have some suggestions for drilling down into what the cause might be.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network