Mac to PC, PC to mac video footage transfer issues at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 19th, 2007, 03:43 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Hollywood, Atlanta
Posts: 437
Mac to PC, PC to mac video footage transfer issues

I am wondering in the newer Intel macs will read NTFS files - .AVI files that were captured on a PC in adobe premiere? -and then allow you to edit in Adobe Premiere pro CS3 for mac?

If this was true it would solve all our problems.

My friend and I make films together -and were always at wits end because he wants to edit on Mac and I want to edit on PC, and we both have investments in editing gear for both... but when we do a film together we want to be able to both edit the same film on separate computers. -2 editors can get more done faster.
__________________
Tyson X
Tyson Persall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 05:32 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 426
Hello,

I have captured AVI files using DV Rack on a PC.. And then have moved the firewire drive to the Mac and imported them into FCP to edit with.. Without any problems.. Keep in mind that I believe the Mac will read a drive using NTSF, but will not write to it..

Mike M
__________________
Mike Moncrief mikemoncrief@gmail.com
www.themikemoncrief.com
Mike Moncrief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 09:00 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
If you want truly seamless compatiblity, the ability to move quickly back and forth, import timelines, clips, transitions and effects without having to convert or transcode.

You HAVE to be on the same NLE. I know you can do this with AVID. I'm not sure how Premiere handles it now that they are cross platform.
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 12:29 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Simsbury, CT
Posts: 247
I create "Microsoft DV AVI" files with my Canopus DVStorm/Premiere 6.0 system, and can easily import them into FCP on my MBP. I can't import "Microsoft AVI" or "Canopus DV" files, presumably because they have something specific to the Canopus codec that the Mac can't read. But if it's a sufficiently generic AVI like the "Microsoft DV AVI", that imports fine from a NTFS hard drive.

I don't think you can go the other way, though ... the Mac can't write to an NTFS drive, and a Mac-formatted drive can't be read by a PC.
Dave Lammey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 12:49 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
there are several softwares allowing mac drives to be used on a pc.
(MacDrive ?)
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 01:06 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Hollywood, Atlanta
Posts: 437
Can Mac read files over 2GBs?

Yes... but Im more specifically worried that if i have a long video file - an AVI that is (for example) - 16GB - that the MAC wont be able to use it in the edit. Any time i have captured video on a MAC the footage has been broken down into 2GB segments that make up the entire 16gb file.
__________________
Tyson X
Tyson Persall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 06:46 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyson Persall View Post
Yes... but Im more specifically worried that if i have a long video file - an AVI that is (for example) - 16GB - that the MAC wont be able to use it in the edit. Any time i have captured video on a MAC the footage has been broken down into 2GB segments that make up the entire 16gb file.
Was the footage captured on a a drive that was formatted on a PC?? If so it was probably formatted using the Fat 32 file system.. Which has a 2 GB limit on file size..

Once again, if you capture it using Premiere, Vegas, DV Rack etc.. and the firewire drive was formatted using the PC NTFS file system.. It will be fine.. With the caveat that on the Mac you can read from a PC drive that is NTFS on a Mac, but not write to that drive.. If the drive was formatted using FAT32, then you can read and write to it using the Mac..with the reminder of the 2 GB file size limit..

One thing you can do is to capture using your PC system(with NTFS file system), and then connect the drive to your Mac, and copy all the files to one of your Mac Firewire or SATA drives,, and all should work fine..

Mike M.
__________________
Mike Moncrief mikemoncrief@gmail.com
www.themikemoncrief.com
Mike Moncrief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2007, 10:03 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 295
As far as hard drive setup goes, the best way (imo) is to format all storage drives as HFS+ and use macdrive on all PC's that will need access. That way every computer can read and write to the drives without any limitations.

The main variable (and main question) is if can you capture on either system and have both OS's read the videos. From my experience that's a big NO without quite a bit of re-encoding and hassle, not to mention duplicate files. But, the thing I'm not sure about is how Premiere Pro CS3 will handle this being that it's available on both OS's. It might be able to read some format that's compatible on both. Maybe do a little research on that end.

Hope that helps a little.

Oh, also keep in mind that it's fairly easy to transfer video as image sequences which are very cross platform. Just an idea.
Gene Crucean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2007, 11:31 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 184
FCP 6 will not read my m2t files directly.

I don't want to have to re-encode them to a different format creating another compression pass. Does someone have a way to edit their m2t files directly with FCP 6?

According to the documentation FCP 6 support JVC Pro 720p 24 but it doesn't read the native m2t files.

Thoughts?
Tim Holtermann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2007, 09:40 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Hollywood, Atlanta
Posts: 437
Quicktime DV or Microsoft DV AVI

Will Premiere CS3 for Mac use Quicktime DV files like Final cut pro does?
__________________
Tyson X
Tyson Persall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2011, 02:23 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 190
Re: Mac to PC, PC to mac video footage transfer issues

Bump.

Another videographer is trying to provide me HD footage from an uninterrupted event. He shoots on tape and edits on Mac. I shoot on SD cards and edit on PC. I have a FAT32 drive that can be read by both Macs and PCs. However, the file size limit in FAT32 is 4GB.

**Is there a way to tell FCP to automatically break up a tape (based on size or length) into smaller chunks when capturing?
Christian Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2011, 03:44 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 700
Re: Mac to PC, PC to mac video footage transfer issues

Is there any reason he can't ship you a tape?

Alternately, you could use a compression/achival program (zip. rar. etc) to wrap and split the video into bite-sized morsels.
__________________
Freelance pudgy bearded lighting camera operator
www.mcbob.tv
Kevin McRoberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2011, 04:04 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: Mac to PC, PC to mac video footage transfer issues

The fastest and surest way would be to either you get a PC driver for Mac filesystem like MacDrive or your client to get a Mac driver for NTFS filesystem like Tuxera.
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2011, 05:19 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Re: Mac to PC, PC to mac video footage transfer issues

Hi to all,.
I'm running Windows 7 and OSX Lion on the one machine, I convert all my files now to Avid DnxHD ( normally do it on the Mac side overnight.)
All my Data drives are NTFS and I have NTFS-3g installed on OSX.
I can edit in Vegas on the Windows side, and Premiere on the Mac side without changing the files in any way.
As of a few weeks ago, I can now use Cineform files the same way.
I'm just hoping when Final Cut X comes out I can do the same.
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network