FCP6 - realtime output to HDMI & S-Video at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 28th, 2007, 02:30 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Posts: 12
FCP6 - realtime output to HDMI & S-Video

Hello,

We will be setting up a new editing computer whic will be used to edit mostly in HDV. A lot of our projects are edited and mastered in HDV, but usually (for now) we downconvert them to SD for DVD usage. So we are looking for the best/value hardware solution. We will be viewing the HD footage on a Sony 40" LCD with HDMI input, and a Sony CRT monitor with S-Video input. We would like them both to show realtime from an HDV timeline.

The only possible solution I can come up with at this point is a Blackmagic DeckLink HD Extreme ($995) outputting to S-Video to monitor and SDI to a Blackmagic HDLink converter ($445) to HDMI monitor.

Is this the only solution? Has anyone tried a similar approach? Will this setup keep sync? I think AJA's new IoHD would work for my needs but I can't justify $3,500 so I can edit in HDV. I will not be using Pro Rez....

Any thoughts/suggestions would be appreciated.
Carl Crum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2007, 10:02 AM   #2
Sponsor: Electronic Mailbox
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Glen Cove, NY
Posts: 751
check out the Black magic Intensity Pro. You get HDMI & analog I/O forunder $350! http://www.videoguys.com/intensitypro.html

Gary
__________________
Check out http://www.videoguys.com 800 323-2325 We are the video editing and live video production experts! DV InfoNet members save 5%! Use Coupon Code DVINFO5OFF
Gary Bettan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2007, 04:38 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Posts: 12
Intensity Pro is not simultaneous output

Thanks for the suggestion, but the Intensity Pro cannot output to HDMI and s-Video at the same time. You must select one or the other.
Carl Crum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2007, 05:04 PM   #4
Sponsor: Electronic Mailbox
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Glen Cove, NY
Posts: 751
too bad - I wasn't sure about that. has anyone tried running 2 intensity Pro cards at the same time, on set to HDNI, the other to analog???
__________________
Check out http://www.videoguys.com 800 323-2325 We are the video editing and live video production experts! DV InfoNet members save 5%! Use Coupon Code DVINFO5OFF
Gary Bettan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:07 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network