Compressor won't submit at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 5th, 2007, 10:57 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
Compressor won't submit

Having just installed FCS2, I tried to export from FCP to Compressor, but after prepping, when I hit submit I received this message:

"Please restart your computer or verify your Compressor installation is correct."

I tried the first, didn't work. I don't know how to do the second.

Any ideas?

I considered a reinstall, but in the installation window, Compressor says 'O bytes.' Maybe I have to trash and delete Compressor, I'd onnly trashed it before.

best,
elmer
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2007, 11:16 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
I had a issue on DVCPRO HD frame converter plugin didn't get erased and ended up conflicting. Maybe erasing will do.
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2007, 12:12 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
Actually, it says: "Unable to submit to Queue. Please restart your computer or verify your Compressor installation is correct."

@ Kaku Ito

When you say erasing, do you mean trashing and deleting Compressor and starting over?

I'd considered re-installing. But in the installation window where it lists the apps, it says Compressor, 0 bytes. Can I re-install with 0 bytes showing, or do I have to trash and delete Compressor first?
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2007, 10:51 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
I will see if there's any official way of uninstalling.

What about trashing the preferences?
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2007, 07:29 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Albany Township, ME
Posts: 95
I am having the same exact problem!!!
Dave Pecunies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2007, 09:43 PM   #6
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Minneapolis Minnesota
Posts: 3
Compressor

Me too! Sounds like something is amiss.
Cy Dodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2007, 10:58 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
Hey fellas,

On Apple Compressor forum there is a long long thread visited by many suffering souls. Not many answers, just complaints. I was a complainer. I finally had to bite the bullet, clean install and now Compressor works.

All that enormous hassle because of one app screwing up.

Good luck.

lmr
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2007, 04:49 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
On that thread in Apple's Compressor forum is a post by macsepp. Maybe try it. Good luck!!!

"I agree with you. This is far away from being solved. There is a clean Deinsaller Script for each FinalCut Studio app or component missing. And it happens again and again.

There is another way which did work for me having simillar problems.

I removed Compressor with AppZapper! which deletes:
/Applications/Compressor.app
~/Library/Application Support/Compressor
~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.Compressor.CompressorSharedService.plist
/Library/Receipts/Compressor.pkg

Then I manually deleted under /Library/Framework/ the Folder Compressor.framework

Then I think the important step is actually an old problem, that is removing Qmaster. Some time ago I saved a link I found here in the forum for Qmaster Removal script which works just fine.

http://home.comcast.net/~kinggorilla...oveQmaster.tgz

Remove Qmaster and then do a fresh install of Compressor and Qmaster from your FCS2 DVD. Should work."

best,
elmer
http://elmerlang.com

A couple films:
Lunky Business (2:53) - Behind every great man is a kitty cat
http://elmerlang.com/LunkyBusiness.html

Comet (4:23) - Hip pitch piece for science ed
http://elmerlang.com/Comet.html

Like Bloody Lips (4:13) - What doesn't kill you makes you stranger.
http://elmerlang.com/LBL.html
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2007, 09:57 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Posts: 247
I am glad you got that fixed.

When ever I start to have issues with FCS, I wont hesitate to wipe the hard drive and re-install everything. My time is to important to try to admin FCS to make it work. My first install (before the 1.1 update) did not go to well with me, so I zapped the drive and did a fresh one.

Anyway, glad to here is works for you now.

Jim
Jim Fields is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network