HDV over firewire on FCP 6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 8th, 2007, 11:27 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Venice ITALY
Posts: 22
HDV over firewire on FCP 6

Anyone knows how to activate the HDV output over firewire on FCP 6 (as you can do with DV)? This set-up is available in the audio-video settings in grey only... so is not possible to choose it even when you have an HDV device connected. Maybe is necessary a video card?
Max Bettelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 12:40 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 355
Sounds like you may have a bad install. I would try re-installing or checking for updates for a start. What system do you have running FCP 6 on?
__________________
Jeff Zimmerman || DP and OP || Red Raven || 1DXII
www.m3films.com
Jeff Zimmerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 02:38 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 611
Can't be done.

HDV doesn't travel over firewire for monitoring in that way. You'd need a special video card that handle realtime HDV.
__________________
Shorts::Cut - www.shortscut.org.uk
The Short Film Festival for Portsmouth & Southsea.
Dylan Pank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 05:05 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylan Pank View Post
Can't be done.

HDV doesn't travel over firewire for monitoring in that way. You'd need a special video card that handle realtime HDV.
FCP6 supports it, I am doing it with no problem using an older Sony Hi8 firewire camera and my TV.
Jim Fields is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 08:56 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Fields View Post
FCP6 supports it, I am doing it with no problem using an older Sony Hi8 firewire camera and my TV.
FCP 6 will down-convert HDV into DV and send it out over firewire, but it can't send HDV out via FW for real time monitoring.


-A
Andrew Kimery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2007, 03:28 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Posts: 247
My TV is Standard Def, so I never noticed anything other than it working.
:)
Jim Fields is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2007, 06:28 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 611
You never noticed your Hi8 camera wasn't HD? :-)
__________________
Shorts::Cut - www.shortscut.org.uk
The Short Film Festival for Portsmouth & Southsea.
Dylan Pank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2007, 11:35 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Venice ITALY
Posts: 22
HDV over firewire on FCP 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylan Pank View Post
Can't be done.

HDV doesn't travel over firewire for monitoring in that way. You'd need a special video card that handle realtime HDV.
Thanks.... i had this suspect. What (cheap) card would you suggest for a MacPro Quad 3GHz ?
Max Bettelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2007, 09:10 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mariposa, CA
Posts: 200
Blackmagic's Intensity card sounds about right for what you need. They also offer other solutions depending on your setup.

http://www.blackmagic-design.com/products/intensity/
Patrick Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2007, 09:43 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylan Pank View Post
Can't be done.

HDV doesn't travel over firewire for monitoring in that way. You'd need a special video card that handle realtime HDV.
Does anyone know if this is a limitation of Firewire or a limitation of the software? Is RT HDV monitoring over FW something likely to be seen in upgrades of FCP?
Josh Laronge is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network