Motion 3 Locks Up on MBP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 8th, 2007, 09:15 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 6
Motion 3 Locks Up on MBP

Hi folks,

I just got my MacBook Pro 2.4 Core 2 Duo w/ 4GB ram and I have been teaching myself Motion 3. I've run into some problems, however, in that the program locks up the entire machine (i.e. I can't even move the cursor).

I don't think I'm doing anything intense. The last time it happened I had just opened it, created some text and placed an image and then made it 3d and moved them around some.

Is it unreasonable for me to expect my machine to handle this?

Thanks!

Mike
Mike Frantel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2007, 10:43 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 796
No it's not unreasonable to expect it to work properly. I'm having the same problem with Motion 2 on MacPro quad proc with 7 gigs of RAM. I'm trying to "round trip" my Motion file from FCP to Motion and back again. I do this all the time with LiveType and SoundTrack Pro and it's a great workflow. FCP doesn't seem to like roundtripping Motion files though.

I'm looking for a solution and will post back when I find one.
__________________
Dave Perry Cinematographer LLC
Director of Photography Editor Digital Film Production 540.915.2752 daveperry.net
Dave Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2007, 11:17 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Posts: 247
Sheesh, I got Motion 3 to work on my wifes Macbook with only 1gb of memory and the built in video card. She is using it right now.

Everything in Final Cut Studio 2 works flawless on my 24" iMac with 2gb memory, why are so many people having so many issues?
Jim Fields is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2007, 11:32 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 204
It's a problem with the latest macbook pro update, see this thread for more info:

http://discussions.apple.com/thread....8746&tstart=50


I had to reinstall OSX and all pro apps. Apple said this is the only solution.


Placing text was what always killed me as well.
Kevin James is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:00 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network