AIC into a DV timeline at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 20th, 2007, 01:40 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 58
AIC into a DV timeline

Hey all,

As ever, I'm hoping the amazing input here at DV info can help me out of a problem.

I'm running FCP 6. I injested HDV rushes for a music promo as AIC. I've cut the promo, dropped the AIC timeline into a DV timeline and rendered out. Then used compressor to take it to DVD studio pro and made a nice, shiny DVD.

All good.

But now - 3 weeks on - we've done some pickup shots which i have now cut into the original AIC sequence. But when I drop this sequence (the same one as originally but with one additional shot) into a DV timeline it renders as...well...massive. The aspect ration seems to be intact but it is as if the image has been blown up and most of it is lost outside the frame. I'm guessing (somewhat ignorantly) that the extra image info of HDV / AIC isn't being downscaled for DV (please forgive my horrible lack of the correct terminology).

I have ensured all DV timeline settings are correct - and as I said, the same timelines in the same project with virtually all the same footage worked perfectly 2/3 weeks ago.

The only thing I've done recently is upbrade my OS to 10.4.7 in order to run a newer version of itunes.

Any ideas much appreciated.

Best,
Marco
__________________
If you're gonna do it...be a total control freak and do it 150% right. Then, if you screw up, it's still gonna rock.

Last edited by Marco van Belle; July 20th, 2007 at 01:43 PM. Reason: omitted HDV reference
Marco van Belle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 01:55 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
When you did it before, FCP automatically scaled the pasted clips to be correctly letterboxed in a 720x480 frame. A scale factor of probably 25%.

For some reason it's not doing it anymore, but it doesn't really matter. Double click on a AIC clip in the DV timeline, it will show up in the viewer. Move to the motion tab, and find out the scale parameter. It will be something less than 100%, but the exact number will depend on if it was 720p or 1080, or what.

Select the clip in the timeline, copy it (apple-c). Then select a clip that's pasted incorrectly, and option-v. That will paste attributes. A dialog will pop up with checkmarks for what attributes from the copied clip you want to paste onto the new clip. Select "Scale". Hit ok.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2007, 05:19 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 58
Great thanks!

Thank you Sir,

It was shot on a Z1 at 1080 - I'll head home and try what you suggest this afternoon.

Fingers crossed - I want to put this project to be finally!
__________________
If you're gonna do it...be a total control freak and do it 150% right. Then, if you screw up, it's still gonna rock.
Marco van Belle is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:39 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network