FCS2's Quicktime Conversion Doesn't Include Flash?! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > Flash / Web Video


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 30th, 2007, 09:25 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
FCS2's Quicktime Conversion Doesn't Include Flash?!

I've worked on this for over two weeks. I cannot export with any setting to create a flash video. My Quicktime Conversion options are:

3G
AIFF
FLC
iPod
Apple TV
iPhone
Quicktime Movie
AU
AVI
Wave
DV Stream
Still Image
Image Sequence
iPhone (Cell)
MPEG-4

Did Apple have a spat with Adobe?! I've heard that FCP 4 had Flash listed. Do I now need to buy something more after getting CS3?
__________________
www.LegacyHDV.com
Weddings | Corporate | HMC150s | FCPX | Encore | Lion
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2007, 10:24 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 978
Not sure as I do not use final cut, but, as more people upgrade to the newer flash you will actually be able to use mpeg4 / h264 files which look better even at smaller file sizes. Hopefully another FCP user can help answer your question about the FLVs though.

Doing a quick google search it looks like you need to get the Episode Plugin in order to get access to the other formats.

http://www.telestream.net/products/episode_pro.htm

another stand alone option:
https://flix.on2.com/

My guess is apple did not want to pay for the royalties adn left that to the user?
Josh Chesarek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2007, 12:06 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
$400. Dang.

So everyone who makes Flash videos is buying all this extra stuff?

If Final Cut 4 had it, how did they ever manage to sell FCS2?
__________________
www.LegacyHDV.com
Weddings | Corporate | HMC150s | FCPX | Encore | Lion
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2007, 12:10 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 978
I think FFMPEG X can also do flash, never used it too much thought but it is free. You just cannot do On2VP6 FLVs
Josh Chesarek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2007, 12:27 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dana Salsbury View Post
$400. Dang.

So everyone who makes Flash videos is buying all this extra stuff?

If Final Cut 4 had it, how did they ever manage to sell FCS2?
Final Cut doesn't have Flash export capability unless you purchase the Flash upgrade. Been this way since FCP 4 or 4.5 when I started working with it.
__________________
youtube.com/benhillmedia
linkedin.com/in/benhillmedia
Benjamin Hill is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > Flash / Web Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:41 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network