QT to WMV? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > Flash / Web Video


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 3rd, 2009, 03:08 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison
Posts: 330
QT to WMV?

I edit on a Mac but need my exported project to play in Windows Media Viewer, or at least be able to open my project in it (WMV).

What's the best route to go to make this happen?
Blake Cavett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2009, 08:54 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
You're not saying wether the file is SD or HD.

If it's SD, then in Quicktime go to

1. File>Export
2. Movie to AVI in the Export option at bottom
3. Click Options button
4. Click Video Settings
5. Change Cinepak to DV/DVCPRO-NTSC

The resulting .avi file is the standard codec for PC.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2009, 10:40 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison
Posts: 330
It's SD... thanks Ervin!
Blake Cavett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2009, 11:31 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 410
What would we do if it were HD? I'm still exporting HD videos out of Compressor (H.264) and into Vegas in order to make Blu Ray discs. I'm trying to find a way to not recompress these as little as possible.
Chad Dyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2009, 11:36 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Avid DNxHD. No recompression required. Just move the file over, and open it.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2009, 03:30 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 410
Perrone,

I've never noticed that option as an export in FC. Is this something I would do in Compressor?
Chad Dyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2009, 03:44 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
You have to install the (free) codec separately. Once you do, you will see it. I recommend it highly for work that has to go back and forth with macs and pcs. If you only need to go from Mac to PC, then use ProRes. The PC user only needs a current version of quicktime to be able to see and use the video.

Actually, re-reading this, neither will work as both DNxHD and ProRes will need quicktime to open on the PC. Windows media needs either an .WMV file or a .AVI. AVI is a crapshoot as both systems would need the same codec. Safest bet would be a Microsoft DV codec or uncompressed though that would be HUGE.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > Flash / Web Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network