streaming via firewire? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > Flash / Web Video


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 26th, 2002, 02:13 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 6
streaming via firewire?

I want to stream my Sony TRV9 via Firewire on my PC. Is this possible? I have two firewire options, one being a PCI card and the other being a port on the front of my Creative Audigy Platinum module.

So far, any software I use only see's my Quickcam. The PCI port will show the camera in "My Computer" but the Audigy port does not show it at all.

Help!
msaerica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2002, 02:46 PM   #2
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
ieee1394 ports on audigy cards are problemmatic. you didn't mention what OS you're on. look in the device manager to see if the audigy firewire port is even being recognized.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2002, 02:56 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 6
audigy

I am using WinMe.

I am trying to use the audigy port because the wire is so short. It did recognize when I restarted with the camera plugged in and on, it used Texas Instuments 1394 drivers.

If the PCI ports will work better, then I will use that. I can see the camera using those ports, but cannot get it to recognize with any of my streaming software.
msaerica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2002, 02:58 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
ahhhh....winMe is problemmatic, itself. the best solution may be to upgrade your OS to w2000 or xp.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2002, 03:01 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 6
can do

I can do that, but do I really want to? There must be a way!

thank you for your replies...
msaerica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2002, 03:23 PM   #6
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
It depends on why you are doing this, whether or not you need to upgrade your system. If you just like to play with it, find the right drivers and program. If you like creating video for distribution or profit, get the better O.S. and hardware. If you want to do this for a living...

For now, I would look up all drivers and check your bios for an update.
Good luck,
Keith
K. Forman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2002, 03:29 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 6
I want to use it to stream live video from my music studio. I can see the camera, I can capture, I just can't get my streaming software to recognize the camera.
msaerica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2002, 03:34 PM   #8
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
sounds like a problem with the streaming software to me. has it ever recognized the camera before? the camera drivers need to be part of the software app.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2002, 04:20 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 6
software

I am not sure what I am using is right in the first place. I am open to suggestions. I tried Ulead and Webcam32.
msaerica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2002, 04:26 PM   #10
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
I don't know what your capture app is, but, some apps have a preview window that's adequate for streaming. ScenalyzerLive will do this, as well as apps like MS Netmeeting. Webcam probably won't work. Ulead MediaStudio Pro 6 oughta work with the preview window.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2002, 05:36 PM   #11
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
While I was at SurfGuru, they used to stream a live show twice a week. I believe they used a Windows Media program that encoded live video.
Keith
K. Forman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2002, 12:30 AM   #12
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I think the problem is that most of the streaming server
applications out there might nog accept firewire as an input.
Adobe Premiere, as an NLE program, only started to support
DV/firewire natively since the latest version 6 (doh). So I
wouldn't be suprised at all if these applications only support
the VFW (Video For Windows) interface at the moment. The
one exception might indeed be Microsoft's encoder cause
they are pushing hard that everyone goes with Directshow
(and thus firewire). Some testing is in order I guess.

But in theory, it should be possible if you have software
that supports this!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2002, 01:17 AM   #13
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
They were using a Sony Mini DV with Firewire, so It should work with most others.
Keith
K. Forman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > Flash / Web Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:47 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network