DYS Smart 3 axis gimbal on Phantom 1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Flying Cameras

Flying Cameras
UAV, Helicam, and all other aerial videography topics.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 4th, 2014, 05:09 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Walmer UK
Posts: 37
DYS Smart 3 axis gimbal on Phantom 1

Hi,
Just a short rather boring video showing my first flight using my new DYS Smart 3 axis gimbal on my Phantom 1 which is using its stock 8 inch props which I have balanced. The gimbal was pre setup by the supplier and I have made no changes to it. I have yet to get a micro usb lead so can't connect to PC anyway at the moment.

Filmed using a GoPro Hero 3 black at 1080p 50fps. My previous Aeroxcraft gimbal largely produced jello free results but suffered some vibrations when flying backwards over a subject. Though nowhere near as bad as these vibrations. However I do prefer the look from the DYS with no wiggle and the promise of much better footage ahead (I hope!) I am using the supplied (soft) dampeners. I have read that Tarot dampeners work better.
As the worse jello/vibrations occured when the Phantom was moving particulary when asending the motors must be the chief suspect. I assume that 3 axis gimbals are more sensitive to vibration over the 2 axis?

Whats my next move?

cheers

bill
To see video in HD view via vimeo site.

Bill Sherren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2014, 05:41 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
Posts: 745
Re: DYS Smart 3 axis gimbal on Phantom 1

Looks good! I did have the same gimbal a while ago, but I could never get any decent results from it, so I ended up buying the H3-3D which was very good. However your footage looks pretty close to perfect aside from those occasional small movements..

Have you tried using an ND filter? I find that they do a good job at removing vibrations by slowing the shutter speed and creating a bit of motion blur.
Jody Arnott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2014, 07:59 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,241
Re: DYS Smart 3 axis gimbal on Phantom 1

I've had great results with this gimbal on my F450 / E300 setup. I did go through the whole calibration process and setup values as documented here:
__________________
Nate Haustein PXW-FS5 / iMac i7 / FCPX
www.flightcreativemedia.com
Nate Haustein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2014, 09:09 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Walmer UK
Posts: 37
Re: DYS Smart 3 axis gimbal on Phantom 1

Is there a way of connecting up the USB on the GoPro hero 3 camera to the PC for both downloading the videos and charging up the GoPro? At the moment I have to unscrew those tiny screws each time which is a real pain! I don't have any FPV yet.

cheers

bill
Bill Sherren is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Flying Cameras

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:53 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network