Firestore ProHD quicktimeHD files wont open PC at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Focus Enhancements FireStore

Focus Enhancements FireStore
Specifically for the FireStore DV Direct-To-Edit Disk Recording Solutions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 3rd, 2008, 12:53 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
Firestore ProHD quicktimeHD files wont open PC

Hello,
I bought the Firestore ProHD version Just becuase it will record QuicktimeHD?
I recorded to QuicktimeHD and imported opens with Quicktime 7pro but white screen?
Cannot play the file AT ALL~!
Import to editor Audio only!


There has to be a way to edit these QuicktimeHD files or even open them?

If not Firestore selling point is just Ink printed for sale with no working QuicktimeHD..
I would contact Focus but I have been waiting 4 weeks for a CD I ordered already.

I hope someone knows how to get some use out of the QuicktimeHD in the ProHD firestore.
I dont want to shoot m2t. that is why I got the ProHD firestore QuicktimeHD is worth $500 more in cost.

Any help would be nice...

Thanks guys
-Steve
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2008, 01:35 AM   #2
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 2
As far as I have understood there are no Quicktime HDV codecs for PC at all. And even on Mac you need to have Final Cut to open or work with QT HDV files.
Lauri Virkki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2008, 04:05 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 13
Are you using Final Cut Express HD? If so, that's your problem. Final Cut Express does not allow native HD editing -- it's in the product description. You must convert the files before use with Express. Of course, with Final Cut Pro this is not the case. I'm guessing Apple is trying to tell us something (ie: buy Final Cut Pro Studio).

I did get Final Cut Pro Studio and it works perfectly with QT HD clips from Firestore.
Jonas Hamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2008, 10:52 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 6
I just encountered the very same issue today using FCE and QT HD files off my DR-HD100.

So now I have to ask: What's the best way to convert those files into a format that FCE can read?

Thanks in advance.
Brendan Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2008, 04:29 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 13
Sorry, I don't have Final Cut Express anymore to check. Try the "Help" section or read the chapter on HD Import and conversion. I'm sure it's covered in Apple's Help Guides somewhere. You might also want to do some Google searches on Final Cut Express and HD and Import. See what else is out there. Best of luck.
Jonas Hamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2008, 05:32 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 6
Thanks. Actually, I just found a way around it, though it sort of defeats the purpose of using the hard drive in the first place. I dubbed the footage from my DR-HD100 to the tape transport on my camera. Then I captured the footage on the tape in my camera using FCE. Not the most convenient, but at least I can use the video now.
Brendan Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2009, 09:28 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
Focus Enahncement says will not work on Vista

Focus Enahncement says will not work on Vista thats why I cannot open them..
So here I am Just installed WinXPpro and have got all my software installed again...
and yes! the Quicktime 7.5 installed plus the $20 MPEG2 codec I bought all installed ready to go!
But,,,, No Go! same thing I can hear audio but no Video!

Im contatcing Focus one more time to hear "what im doing wrong again"

I hope I get this stuff figured out... otherwise Focus Enhancement should just promote the product for what it is QTHD is for Final cut Pro ONLY!
Ill keep you guys posted if I ever figure this out!
any help is still greatly needed! I WANT QT HD~!...:)
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2009, 04:31 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Houser View Post
any help is still greatly needed! I WANT QT HD~!...:)
It doesn't work. Save your time and effort and shoot in the compatible format. It's just not worth fighting.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2009, 09:39 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 249
Matt from Focus is looking into this issue...we found it out last week....
But I don't think they'll have a solution...unless they put a different HD Codec in the drives for HD recording....and then PC usage.

:(
__________________
Shooting Video since 1/2" EIAJ reel to reel and editing on 2" QUAD machines.
http://www.takeoneprod.com
Kevin Martorana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 11:11 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PERTH. W.A. AUSTRALIA.
Posts: 4,356
Am experiencing pretty much the same problem but I may have mismanaged and broken something.

We wanted to transfer .m2t origination to tape from a JVC GY-HD100 to quicktime .mov files for edit in FCP, so thought that replaying the tape and recording to the DR-100 might give us quicktime files.

Well it gave us quicktime .mov files but they won't play in PC quicktime, VLC player, Windows Media Player. I thought they might have been broken files so tried QTRepair which launched then hung.

Can anyone confirm if playing back the tape to the DR-100 with the DR-100 in quicktime record mode is workable or is it mismanagement?

Otherwise, the DR-100 machine has been faultless. Quicktimes recorded previously on it during camera-record have opened in a client's FCP fine.

Last edited by Bob Hart; January 13th, 2009 at 11:13 AM. Reason: added text.
Bob Hart is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Focus Enhancements FireStore

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:10 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network