audio? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Focus Enhancements FireStore

Focus Enhancements FireStore
Specifically for the FireStore DV Direct-To-Edit Disk Recording Solutions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 16th, 2005, 02:24 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 9
audio?

I was wonder about the audio for the FS-4 cause i got a canon XL1 and after about 20min of film the audio sync so I was wondering if the FS-4 would fix that and one more thing I wanted to know with the XL1 I can record 4 channels of audio on it but when i go to import the clips on final cut pro its only lets me use 2 of the audio channels like 1 and 2 or 3 and 4 and I want to use all 4 of them so I was wondering if its right on the hard drive when the clips go into final cut pro would i get all 4 channels of audio if someone could help me out with this it would be great


thxs
Corey Katz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2005, 03:50 PM   #2
Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 571
Hi Corey,


I don't know what is causing your audio to go out of sync, so I can't say if the FS-4 will fix that. All of my audio is in sync using the beta FS-4, I have been testing. Your problem may be with your NLE program's settings.

As far as your question about the four tracks of audio - I should have tested that while the beta testing was still going on. I think that this is an important function, which I have just sadly discovered, seems not to be supported by the FS-4.

I hope Matt will chime in here and tell me what one has to do to capture all four audio tracks offered by the XL-1 and XL-1s in 16 bit audio mode.

I just did a test using the beta FS-4 and it appears as though only two tracks are included in the Quicktime film created by it. The second stereo pair doesn't show up at all.
__________________
Daniel Kohl

Frankenstein meets XL1
Daniel Kohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2005, 08:48 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 9
thanks for the reply daniel I looking into buying the fs-4 but I want to try 4 channels in 12 bit audio mode
Corey Katz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2005, 02:12 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
The data sheet (pdf) on the fs-4 page at Focus Enhancements says its compatible with 4 channel 12 bit operation.

I ALWAYS record 4 channels of sound. I work with Premiere Pro rather than Final Cut but don't do any capturing with Premiere because of the 2 channel limitation. I capture from my Xl1 with Scenalyzer which captures an avi with 2 channels of sound and a wav of the other 2 channels. Those I can import into Premiere without a hitch.

Does anyone know how the fs-4 deals with the extra audio channels? I was just about ready to buy, but after seeing this post I think I'd better wait to find out how to get all four channels into Premiere. If I have to recapture the alternate audio the fs-4 will actually add time to my process.

Brad
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2005, 12:38 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 1,132
isn't the fs-4 data an exact digital duplicate of what's on the dv tape? so the 4 channels of audio should be there, it's a question of how to seperate it all.
Dan Euritt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2005, 07:34 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
Well, from what I've gleaned, the fs-4 has the ability to make an exact copy in the dv format but what's being touted is its ability to create, on the fly, the various formats that NLE's use as input.

I'm not really clear on all the technical differences, - whether or not there's further compression or just packaging changes when I capture dv to my hard drive. But, I do know that Premiere won't input the data from my XL-1 directly, it has to be formatted into avi and wav files.

My concern is whether or not the fs-4 makes that extra wav file when it's capturing so I can use it in Premiere.

Brad
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2005, 07:49 AM   #7
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
There is no further compression. It's all DV25. There's a different wrapper for each NLE platform, though... QuickTime for Final Cut Pro, AVI Type 2C for Canopus, etc.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2005, 10:20 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
Chris,

Thanks for the info. Any idea as to whether the fs-4 can pull those extra sound channels into a wav? Otherwise I'd have to capture in Scenalyzer again anyway.

My email to "contact us" in the fs-4 site got bounced back.

Brad
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Focus Enhancements FireStore

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network