FS4 / FS4 Pro HD various topics - Page 24 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Focus Enhancements FireStore

Focus Enhancements FireStore
Specifically for the FireStore DV Direct-To-Edit Disk Recording Solutions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 23rd, 2007, 04:49 PM   #346
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: an Alaskan living in Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 513
well, I have never really shot timelapse until recently. and that was when I got the firestore. so it has all been trial and error for me. I have found that for a 20 hour shoot, usually the 1 frame every second works great. here is a page I found on calculating timelapse, it may not help you too much because you are PAL, but it could help get you on the right start.


http://www.videomaker.com/article/2384/

I think it is pretty old, but not much should have changed.

hope that straightens things out a bit for ya!
Ian Planchon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2007, 03:13 AM   #347
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Crewe United Kingdom
Posts: 43
Thanks Ian!

Your 20 hour shoot would therefore have given you 48 minutes of video where everything was moving 25 times faster than normal - so you would I presume use small clips taken from that sequence.

I think you and I are approaching this timelapse thing from different angles and that you're probably more interested in it's creative use.

Where I'm comming from is the 'show the process in full' angle - fungi sprouting on rotting wood etc where I know the finish clip length before I even start.

Cheers for the input Ian - when I've got something worth showing I'll let you know!

Best Regards

Andy
__________________
www.wildlifeinpixels.com
Andrew M Astbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2007, 08:10 PM   #348
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Enniskillen N.Ireland
Posts: 31
Upgrade to HD for FS-4

Hi I was just wondering how i go about upgrading my FS4 to record HD clips. I looked at the Firestore website and it was priced at $299!! That is about 150.00 stg. A new FS4 HD costs about 500.00!!! Is it just a cd with upgraded software and if so why does it cost so much?

Thanks for any help.
Stephen Kettyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2007, 08:25 PM   #349
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 2,614
Because it is their software. They are not selling you a CD, they are selling their intellectual property.

Mike
__________________
Chapter one, line one. The BH.
Mike Teutsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2007, 08:46 PM   #350
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
FS-4HD will not connect to computer

I select DD drive, connect the 1394 cable to the FS and press enable.
After a few seconds the FS-4HD reboots and ends up at the first menu page.

I have been using this unit sucessully for a year now and this is the first time I've had this problem.

I've checked the computer and it seems to be okay, but I do not have another device to check it.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Joe
Joe Matyas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2007, 07:04 AM   #351
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Found the problem. I have three channel 1394 card. By using another channel it works normally.

Joe
Joe Matyas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2007, 01:28 PM   #352
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Enniskillen N.Ireland
Posts: 31
Sean have you tested the battery. Does the unit power ok with the charger etc it may just be a bad contact with the battery. Fro opening mine i think they are quite fragile. I currently have an FS4 which is not working as clips are always corrupted when stored on the hard drive. Someone swapped it for another and now it does not work. Drop me an email for a chat. Kettlo@aol.com. I need to ask you something about your upgrade.
Stephen Kettyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2007, 02:01 AM   #353
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Fs-4

Def not Battery contacts, I`ve also got the seperate focus battery charger and the batts charger fine on there and work fine with the FS-4, but wont charge using the dc input, I`m going to order some generic DC input plugs today so when the unit is fixed I`ll post where and what to buy.
Sean Reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2007, 09:57 PM   #354
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 21
fs-4pro hd 80gb

Hello I just buy fs-4pro hd 80gb and I confused about the upgrade to use Quicktime hdv 1080i/60 for finalcut user. I have a new one the fimware is the 2.0.0.04...., my question is Do I need anyway the upgrade? it cost $40.00
Juan Camara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2007, 12:42 AM   #355
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, California
Posts: 528
Your NEW Firestore should have already included the upgrade....
Kit Hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2007, 11:25 PM   #356
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Posts: 105
FS4 HD with sony FX-1 or HDR Hc-3?

Hi will the FS4 HD work with either a Sony FX-1 or HDR HC3 without tapes?....Initial attempts don't seem to....
thanks
Len
Len Imbery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2007, 08:06 AM   #357
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Posts: 105
found the answer....

OOPS....I found the answer myself on the Focus product compatibility sheet on their site......Both cams work but only with a tape in the drive.....
Len Imbery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2007, 12:07 PM   #358
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 161
You can always press record on the Firestore to control start/stop. I'm capturing straight to a laptop, using a remote to control start/stop on the computer. Its not too inconvenient, although its a bit of a pain to always have to look down at the computer to verify that it is indeed recording.

Basically, there are workable options to go tapeless with any camera.

-Terence
Terence Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2007, 05:26 PM   #359
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Posts: 105
start/stop on firestore to control recording

thanks....I'll give that a try....
Len
Len Imbery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2007, 10:54 PM   #360
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, California
Posts: 528
Hey Len,
I hope that Firestore is working out for you. If you need any additional support, please feel free to let me know.
Thanks
Kit
Kit Hannah is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Focus Enhancements FireStore

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network