FS-4 wont trigger "rec" from HV10? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Focus Enhancements FireStore

Focus Enhancements FireStore
Specifically for the FireStore DV Direct-To-Edit Disk Recording Solutions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 30th, 2006, 06:56 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
FS-4 wont trigger "rec" from HV10?

Hello everyone. My FS-4 can't seem to record HDV with a Canon HV10 using the Canon's "Rec" button.....has anyone else tried this combo and got it to record from the HV10's "rec" button?

~ I can record M2T files if I use "Local" control but I don't want to use it this way- I want to record via the HV10's rec button~
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2006, 11:12 AM   #2
Focus Enhancements
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Campbell, CA.
Posts: 508
Do you have a tape in the camera?
Matt McEwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2006, 02:29 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Matt,

actually no- I was hoping to use it tapelessly- as it works with the DVX100. My guess is that it's not sending the necessary comands via Firewire- does this sound correct?

Can I use a tape with the tape removed and "fool" it- or will the absence of tape material cause this not to work?
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2006, 04:26 PM   #4
Focus Enhancements
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Campbell, CA.
Posts: 508
Hi Steve,

I have not had a HV-10 in our lab for testing yet, but I assume it does not have the DV Control option and does not allow for control of external DV/HDV devices.

Matt
Matt McEwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2006, 04:27 PM   #5
Focus Enhancements
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Campbell, CA.
Posts: 508
Sent too soon...

It does not allow control of external DV/HDV devices without a tape inserted.

Matt
Matt McEwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2006, 04:30 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Would a tape with the stock removed work?
(Thanks Matt)
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2006, 01:03 PM   #7
Focus Enhancements
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Campbell, CA.
Posts: 508
Never tried that and am not sure. I would say you should probably check with Canon that it won't damage your camera before you attempt to do this.

Matt
Matt McEwen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Focus Enhancements FireStore

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network