What capture resolution Should I Use at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition
Topics about HD production.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 3rd, 2009, 11:14 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Morgan, Vermont
Posts: 130
What capture resolution Should I Use

I have an XHAI and XLHI and have been capturing in Apple Pro Res at 1920 x 1080. However I am wondering if I should instead be capturing in 1440 x 1080 since this is the true resolution of the CCDs

Also I am wondering how I should be capturing from an HV30....I use the HV30 as a deck to import my tapes. I have been doing it with 1920 x 1080. After reading a bunch of posts I have become alarmed that I am doing things incorrectly!

I'd like to use the HV30 as a second camcorder in my productions. If I shoot in AV at its fullest resolution and in 601, should I again be capturing in 1440 x 1080?

Tim
__________________
Wedding and Events Videography
www.video-vermont.com
Tim Palmer-Benson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2009, 10:40 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
1080 line HDV is recorded as 1440x1080 (CCD pixel count is not the issue). There's no point in resizing to 1920x1080, while transcoding, during capture.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2009, 11:00 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Morgan, Vermont
Posts: 130
Are published specs deceiving us?

So, the cameras I am talking about are really 1440 x 1080 cameras not full 1080 p capable cameras...right? I found an interesting Wikipedia on this.
1080p - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Since posting my question, I have been looking at the clip properties in the timeline and in the browser. I see 1440 x 1080. So by importing at the higher resolution, have I just wasted processing time/effort and nothing else? No detrimental effects to the captured video?

I also looked in the "distort" properties in Motion tab for the same clip, but I don't quite understand what I am seeing there.

Tim
__________________
Wedding and Events Videography
www.video-vermont.com
Tim Palmer-Benson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2009, 11:32 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
Yes, if you are shooting with an HDV camera, you are recording 1440x1080 images (unless shooting 720p with JVC's cameras). You are deteriorating the image (if only just slightly) by resizing (but not as a practical matter). Resizing to 1920x1080, while transcoding, will take more CPU power for the encoding and result in larger files (to get the same quality image you could get at 1440x1080), with no benefit.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network