Lacie 4-Big Quadra-Problems. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition
Topics about HD production.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 4th, 2009, 07:50 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Doncaster UK
Posts: 42
Lacie 4-Big Quadra-Problems.

Hi, Is anyone out there using a 4-Big Quadra or similar raid unit? I am having trouble and based on experience so far with customer services, I think I'm in for a marathon.
I have had one unit replaced that eventually became unrecognised by my PC after all kinds of drive problems.
The replacement arrived and during formatt one drive(No. 3) started flashing alternate red/blue. This is not in the manual and was therefore passed on by the local tech. section to above.The front LED remains constant throughout.
Initial response was that a replacement drive 3 was required and to say when I was ready for a replacement.Replied ready now as no data was on the unit.
Response was that the symptoms indicated Raid was rebuilding and to try other Raid settings.No mention of a replacement drive and obvious O.post had not been read properly.
The unit ships in Raid 0 and this is how I tried it.I asume I,m right in thinking there is no redundancy in 0 and that this reply is rubbish!
Just in desperation I tried other Raid modes and the drive 3 Led continues red/blue with or without data.
The drive is recognised in POST by my PC (Asus P6T Deluxe V2, I7 320, Marvell 88SE 6111 conroller for E-sata on the go.)
Any suggestions please.
Michael
Michael Threadgold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2009, 10:34 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: BOCa raton fl
Posts: 342
the reason i stopped getting Lacie

They always were problemic for me . No more i build my own drives . They use very cheap power supplies and other parts

Doug
Doug Tessler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2009, 01:03 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Doncaster UK
Posts: 42
Thanks forthe info.Doug. Idon,t know what chip they use but it has 4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5 Gb. drives which now seem to get good reviews.
Michael
Michael Threadgold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2009, 11:17 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Threadgold View Post
Thanks forthe info.Doug. Idon,t know what chip they use but it has 4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5 Gb. drives which now seem to get good reviews.
Michael
A while ago, these Seagates seemed to generate lots of problems (I was researching 1.5TB drives a couple of months back). I believe Seagate made firmware changes to fix them, but maybe your unit has some older, non-fixed drives?
Nick Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2009, 12:25 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Doncaster UK
Posts: 42
Hi Nick, thankyou for your reply. The drives are not affected by that firmware nightmare, there is a checker on their site and I used it to make sure they were OK. Thts what I meant by "now getting good reviews".Michael
Michael Threadgold is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network