60i to 24p at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition
Topics about HD production.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 4th, 2005, 02:52 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
60i to 24p

So I got my hands on some HVR-Z1s and recorded 60i footage and devised a method to convert to 24p that I'd be interested in comment on or alternatives:

I convert the MPEG-2 TS using Cineform HD. Then using VirtualDub, I set the framerate to 24p using inverse telecine. I also add a 1-pixel blur. Then I downsize to 1280x720 to account for the lost resolution from the blur.

I then get beautiful, crisp, smooth 24p fotoage.

Would MagicBullet do any better? Thanks for any advice.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 02:54 PM   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Only problem is, you're leaving the ITU 709 colorspace when you use Vdub.
What app are you working in?
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 02:57 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
AH that's why the colors look a little funky. I thought it was just compression.

I use Vegas. What would be a better app to do the IVTC and 1 pixel blur? I am not as happy with the results in Vegas when I set the project to 24p and use the gaussian blur.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 03:05 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Can I answer that in 2 weeks at NAB? :-)
There is an alternative that we're working with, and you'll love the results, I'm sure.
Vdub is shifting colors, but you should be using blend fields, and downsampling in Vegas. If you aren't using the color correction preset from the VASST site, you're likely still shifting color, because of the fact that Vegas 5 uses the 601 color space, not 709 colorspace. We have a preset for Vegas on the VASST site that accurately compensates for this.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 04:38 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
I will play with my settings tonight and try. I might ask you to confirm precisely what settings to use both in project and clip settings, as well as any FX to apply. So I assume I'm *not* using Gaussian blur? I'd much rather work in Vegas since it's much faster to let ConnectHD convert the footage once. I'll also get that colorspace plugin.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 04:41 PM   #6
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
It's not a plugin, just a preset. It's free on the VASST site.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 04:54 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
Thanks Douglas. :)

Can I trouble you with ohe other question unrelated to this? Maybe this should be in a new thread, but since you're here -

One of my cameramen made the mistake of keeping the camera in auto-control of the gain. His shots don't look nearly as good as the others. Yes, they're brighter, but they're grainy. Would you recommend any method of using Vegas FXs to try to make the footage a little cleaner?
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 08:40 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
Ok, it's working in Vegas but taking 12 HOURS per hour of footage to convert. That makes no sense! Any ideas to speed this up?
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 08:43 PM   #9
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
What's working in Vegas? A little more description of what you're doing might help.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 09:05 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
Project Properties:

Width: 1280
Height: 720
Field Order: none (prog scan)
Pixel Aspect Ratio: 1 (square)
Frame Rate: 23.976 (IVTC film)
Full Res Rendering Quality: Good
Motion Blur Type: Gaussian
Deinterlace Method: Blend Field


Clip Properties (media tab)
Attributes: 1440x1080x24
Format: Cineform HD Codec v1.2
Frame Rate: 29.970 (NTSC)
Field Order: Upper Field First
Pixel Aspect Ratio: 1.3333
Alpha Channel: None

Renders at about 2 frames per second. vdub does it at 10.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2005, 10:26 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
Well, ok, you're right, VDUB just can't do it properly. Unfortunately neither can Vegas.

Douglas, you mentioned a mysterious new solution. Will this be available soon? Can you tell me anything about how much it will cost? I'm tempted to just write my own plugin for Vegas to do IVTC and a 1 pixel radius blur.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2005, 11:57 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 444
Do all these solutions entail downconverting to 720p? It seems like such a waste.
Betsy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2005, 03:07 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
You don't have to down to 720p but you might as well. Once you've 1-pixel blurred, you've lost some resolution already. There's little reaosn to store the video at full 1080p if you don't have a full 1080 lines of res anymore.

Exactly how much res. is lost depends on the software and the type of blur. I still notice resolution differences between 480p and 720p, so it's better than 480p, but exactly what the new _actual_ resolution of the picture is, I don't know. I think 720p is a good approximation.

Besides, my TV displays 720p native as do most DLPs. I think until 1080p becomes a reality, 720p is the ideal format for movies, so I have no problem accepting that res.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network