HELP! Converting DVCPRO HD 720p50 to use on PC at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition
Topics about HD production.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 17th, 2010, 10:52 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 588
HELP! Converting DVCPRO HD 720p50 to use on PC

Hi there everyone,

My apologies if this has been answered before, but I'm in an emergency edit session and trying to convert and edit some DVCPRO HD 720p footage (.mov files taken on a JVC Camera of some sort).

Easy on a Mac I'm told, but I'm using Adobe Premiere CS3 (Matrox accelerated) on a PC.

I've tried every conversion tool I can find on Google, even Canopus Procoder - all without success.

Quicktime plays the audio - but black video.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.
John Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 11:42 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York NY
Posts: 322
There is no camera from JVC that records in DVCPro HD. Most likely, it's recording in Sony XDCam format to cards or in JVC's own HDV format to tape.
Arnie Schlissel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 04:50 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 588
Wonderful news. How do I convert it?
John Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2010, 10:44 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
DVCPRO-HD is not a codec, but a format. You need to find out exactly what codec is your footage.

A few years back I got some DVCPRO-HD footage with .mov extension. Turned out it was ProRes - mov is just a container, important thing is what's in it. At that time I had to use a MAC with Final Cut to do the conversion so I could edit on PC. Later Apple made the codec available for the PC...
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2010, 12:53 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ervin Farkas View Post
DVCPRO-HD is not a codec, but a format. You need to find out exactly what codec is your footage.
DVCPro HD is a codec. It can be wrapped into containers such as .mov or .avi and can also be transcoded into Intermediate codecs like ProRes, at which point it is no longer DVCProHD but is DVCProHD sourced footage.

It can be written to tape or to P2 cards or stored on other media or field recorders. It does not have a single defining file extension like .m2t

Hope this helps.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:24 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network