Star Wars TV show being shot in HDV? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition
Topics about HD production.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 2nd, 2005, 09:04 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 125
Star Wars TV show being shot in HDV?

From Comingsoon.net
http://www.comingsoon.net/news/topnews.php?id=10626
George Lucas-
"For the live-action series, he said, "we're going do something that would normally cost ($20 million-$30 million) and try to do it for $1 million," citing The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles as one show where he was able to stretch his production budget.

He said he'll shoot the series on a Sony digital camera system that anyone can buy at an electronics store."

Z1, maybe?
__________________
Erik Rangel
www.inthemind.com
Erik Rangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2005, 09:12 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Actually, I have a friend whose son will be in charge of the animated Star Wars series. He had some great stories about how George Lucas discovered him and the time he spent at the Skywalker ranch. Like so many similar stories, he got a call from George Lucas' secretary asking him to come out for a meeting. He thought it was a friend playing a prank on him and hung up :-)
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2005, 10:24 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,707
The article ends with "He said he'll shoot the series on a Sony digital camera system that anyone can buy at an electronic".

If he shoots with HDV and specifically the Z1U - I will freak!
__________________
Christopher C. Murphy
Director, Producer, Writer
Christopher C. Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2005, 10:28 AM   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher C. Murphy
The article ends with "He said he'll shoot the series on a Sony digital camera system that anyone can buy at an electronic".

If he shoots with HDV and specifically the Z1U - I will freak!
they already have a boatload of Z1's, and have allegedly ordered a bunch of A1U's as well. There are a lot of places the Z1's are being used in Hollywood-related/level projects, partially because of the 1080 ability, and partially because they're here, now.
It's too bad Sony's not assembled a list for advertising of who already is using the Z1 and where. Aside from the people I've been called in to train, (which is sorta the "B" listing) there are some huge directorial and DP names that would be in there.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2005, 10:34 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 285
I assume they shoot 25fps since cineframe 24 is a pretty horrible approximation of 24fps while cineframe 25 seems perfectly fine. Does anyone know? Anyhow, that's really cool to hear. I can't wait for the show; I bet it will look awesome.
Matthew Wauhkonen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2005, 11:18 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,707
D.S.E,

This is really great news if it pans out. I can't think of anything better for spreading the HDV word. When I talk to clients and explain DV vs. HDV it'll be so much easier to say, "It's the same camera the new Star Wars television show uses."

That would rock. Of course, I wouldn't mention the millions of dollars worth of OTHER equipment they have and I don't....lol.
__________________
Christopher C. Murphy
Director, Producer, Writer
Christopher C. Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2005, 03:40 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,719
I would love to find out if they will use tape or shoot uncompressed from the live camera. During Episode 2 (not sure about Episode 3) they usually shot with many different backup systems in place. They ran an uncompressed feed to a system for the main video. They also ran a tape in the camera and a feed to a HDCAM deck for a 3rd copy. It wouldn't really cost much of that 1 million $ budget to get a uncompressed system to capture the video.

The quality would be pretty amazing if they used uncompressed.
Thomas Smet is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network