multiple fps in same project at

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition
Topics about HD production.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 23rd, 2010, 07:53 AM   #1
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Washington, D.C., USA
Posts: 4
multiple fps in same project

Hi folks,
I'm new here and have a question about editing packages with more than one fps rate.

Lets say I shot footage at 1080p24 and my buddy shot the same event at 1080p30. Can you mix the two into the same project in Premiere CS4? Will there be any issues involved?

I normally shoot everything at 1080p24 for the sake of consistency. But every so often I run across an outlier who shoots at a different fps rate :)

Bill Putnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2010, 09:21 PM   #2
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
Maybe you are already aware of this, but -

Everything will be conformed to the project settings in Premiere Pro. In this case you must specify one frame rate and all other frame rates will be conformed (converted) to this setting.

You need to test whether the footage looks good - when your friend's is converted to yours or when yours is converted to his. It's a subjective thing. It also depends on what you are outputting to, and what your final (delivery) format will be.

Hope this helps.
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2010, 01:27 PM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 145
My gut tells me that converting 30p to 24p or vice versa isn't going to look too nice. If I had to do it, my inclination would be convert both at 720p60. Maybe 1080i60.

In Encore, timelines can have end actions that point to other timelines. AFAIK, the timelines don't have to be of the same format. Consequently, if all you're trying to do is basically create a video slideshow, and if all of your formats are, e.g., Blu-ray compatible formats (which 1080p30 is not), then one ought to be able to simply daisychain timelines like this without changing the resolution or framerate (adding a dips to/from black on the ends of the timelines might not be a bad idea so as to avoid anyone noticing the short transition delay), however a presentation like this is probably not what you're after. :)

Software Engineer, Video Hobbyist -- Sony FDR-AX100, HDR-CX12, Miller DS10/Solo, Premiere CS5.5, DYMO DiscPainter, 2010 Mac Pro 3.33GHz 6c
Aaron Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2010, 04:54 PM   #4
Regular Crew
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 177
I've been using Grass Valley's Edius for years and easily mix frame rates, image dimensions and filetypes without conforming or transcoding anything.
The current exception is the newest Nikon .mov files.
Otherwise, it's pretty easy.
Rusty Rogers | Films
Rusty Rogers is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:47 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network