Which codec to use for broadcast? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition
Topics about HD production.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 10th, 2011, 11:02 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rossland, British Columbia
Posts: 964
Which codec to use for broadcast?

Hi all,
Well i'm in a bit of a fix. I have been asked to supply some footage for broadcast but wasn't given any details of what codec to use. I know they want it in a .mov but what codec should i use for this? I need to get this uploaded to their ftp site tonight, & there is no-one i can contact to find this info out. I was just hoping someone may be able to point me in the right direction with this. I have never supplied footage for broadcast before & have no idea what is needed.
Thanks in advance,
Bryce
__________________
There's never enough hours in the day!
Bryce Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2011, 03:39 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,940
Re: Which codec to use for broadcast?

Simple answer is to ask them for their delivery specifications, most broadcasters will be able to do this for you but if you can't get that info then you need to upload it at the best quality possible.

What was it shot on as that may be the format they require, is it HD or SD?
I shoot on P2 so the transcoded .mov files will be 1920x1080i 25np at 100mbs which may be too large for an FTP site but DV will be a lot smaller and it may be that something like pro res 422 would be acceptable to them.

Sorry can't be much help here as you really need to get the broadcaster to specify what they need!
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2011, 04:23 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rossland, British Columbia
Posts: 964
Re: Which codec to use for broadcast?

Thanks Gary,
Yes i had asked for specs, but the guy i was dealing with didn't have them & things were getting very late. I have uploaded a file, that while it is in .mov, & not the HDV that it was shot in, i encoded at roughly the same bit rate, so i'm hoping it will be ok.
I will make sure i have the specs next time if ther is a next time!!
Bryce
__________________
There's never enough hours in the day!
Bryce Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2011, 05:36 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,940
Re: Which codec to use for broadcast?

If it was HDV then a .mov file at about the same resolution is as good as you can get, when I was on HDV which is not a broadcast format here in the UK I would deliver a file at 1920x1080i 25p at 25mbs.
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network