Capturing VHS Tapes Help at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition
Topics about HD production.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 11th, 2011, 01:40 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 3
Capturing VHS Tapes Help

Ok, here is my setup.
Dug out my old DVDO HD+ unit, VHS player and plugged that into my BlackMagic Intensity Pro card.
(VHS into DVDO then hdmi into the blackmagic)
Now I've captured some tapes at 720p .avi files and the files are huge. Something like 6gb per min. I've tried the 720p mjpeg but it seems choppy. I've tried it at 480p and its obviously a lot smaller file size but the aspect ratio seems slightly off compared to the 720p. I've dl the trial of Cineform and done some conversion and it does make the file smaller but what would be the best way of doing this (what settings in cineform should I use High, filmscan one or two)? Is this overkill.Also since these files are huge, I've had to split the files when capturing to my raptor drive.
Please any advise would be great. I don't mind buying some software to convert etc.
Also, I do not plan on putting these on playable Blu rays. I Play everything via a media streamer or HTPC.
One final thing, Cineform does not show the blackmagic as a capture device. IS this normal or something wrong? I've reinstall both cineform and the blackmagic.
Thanks
Don
Riker Rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2011, 02:53 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Fort Wayne, IN (USA)
Posts: 85
Re: Capturing VHS Tapes Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riker Rock View Post
Ok, here is my setup.
Dug out my old DVDO HD+ unit, VHS player and plugged that into my BlackMagic Intensity Pro card.
(VHS into DVDO then hdmi into the blackmagic)
Now I've captured some tapes at 720p .avi files and the files are huge. Something like 6gb per min. I've tried the 720p mjpeg but it seems choppy. I've tried it at 480p and its obviously a lot smaller file size but the aspect ratio seems slightly off compared to the 720p. I've dl the trial of Cineform and done some conversion and it does make the file smaller but what would be the best way of doing this (what settings in cineform should I use High, filmscan one or two)? Is this overkill.Also since these files are huge, I've had to split the files when capturing to my raptor drive.
Please any advise would be great. I don't mind buying some software to convert etc.
Also, I do not plan on putting these on playable Blu rays. I Play everything via a media streamer or HTPC.
One final thing, Cineform does not show the blackmagic as a capture device. IS this normal or something wrong? I've reinstall both cineform and the blackmagic.
Thanks
Don
Why are you capturing VHS at 720P? VHS is a lossy format at 480i. You will not somehow magically gain resolution by capturing in HD.
__________________
Blog
Jordan Nash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2011, 01:27 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 626
Re: Capturing VHS Tapes Help

Why not connect VHS deck direct to Intensity Pro and capture the proper native 480i format? You may also be adding additional loss/conversions by going through the other deck and converting to HDMI first.

As for aspects not matching - HD is always 16:9 widescreen, while your old VHS tapes will be 4:3

Jeff Pulera
Safe Harbor Computers
Jeff Pulera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2011, 09:11 AM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 3
Re: Capturing VHS Tapes Help

Only reason for the dvdo unit is because it has a full frame time base corrector built in and stablizes the video tapes. I tried without it as u suggested and some videos have issues flickering etc.
Thanks
Any other suggestions??
Riker Rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2011, 08:26 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 130
Re: Capturing VHS Tapes Help

I have a Grass Valley ADVC55 Analog to FireWire converter that I use to capture VHS tapes and to livestream SD video from cameras that lack a FireWire connection. Works great.
Michael Johnston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2011, 05:54 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PERTH. W.A. AUSTRALIA.
Posts: 4,356
Re: Capturing VHS Tapes Help

I captured a VHS tape already copied from another via Premiere Pro CS5 via firewire from a JVC HR-DVS1 set to dub from VHS > DV and it did okay. It needed a bit of later work for video noise and the usual VHS old-age dropouts we routinely lived with back in the day.

DARANGULAFILM's Channel - YouTube

I did pull it into a cineform preset project for the correction tools.
Bob Hart is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:23 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network