Ingest via HDMI if firewire not available? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition
Topics about HD production.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 7th, 2013, 02:44 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Norwood, MA
Posts: 252
Ingest via HDMI if firewire not available?

Was looking into new computer and of course have trouble finding one with Firewire. I shoot on Sony HDV tape and wondered if HDMI is another option for capturing from camera to computer. I see just about all computers now have HDMI so that would certainly open the door to many options. I shoot with a pair of FX1000's but then capture/ingest with a small Canon HD camcorder. All been working fine, just would like to upgrade computer to more ram and bigger hard drive.

Thanx all
Darryn Carroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2013, 03:19 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,483
Re: Ingest via HDMI if firewire not available?

On my laptop, anyway, the HDMI is output only and my software (Premiere Pro) doesn't support HDMI input even if it did. YMMV.
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2013, 03:40 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: Ingest via HDMI if firewire not available?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryn Carroll View Post
Was looking into new computer and of course have trouble finding one with Firewire. I shoot on Sony HDV tape and wondered if HDMI is another option for capturing from camera to computer. I see just about all computers now have HDMI so that would certainly open the door to many options. I shoot with a pair of FX1000's but then capture/ingest with a small Canon HD camcorder. All been working fine, just would like to upgrade computer to more ram and bigger hard drive.

Thanx all
You'll need to get a HDMI capture device. BlackMagic makes one that will capture HDMI via USB3.
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2013, 06:09 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Ingest via HDMI if firewire not available?

As long as your system isn't Windows 8, you can still get PCI-E Firewire cards.

If it's a Laptop, if you still have Expresscard and you're not on Windows 8, you can still buy Expresscard Firewire cards as well.

The reason why you need to avoid Windows 8 is because Firewire support ends in Windows 8.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network