Capturing the HD signal from an XBOX 360? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition
Topics about HD production.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 28th, 2006, 09:51 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2
Capturing the HD signal from an XBOX 360?

I'm curious about what it would take to capture the HD-resolution data coming from an XBOX 360 (and other, future consoles). The XBOX 360 can output component, s-video and vga (not sure about the vga).

We have just recently bought a JVC GY-HD100 at work, but there are very few input options on it - at least as far as we've been able to figure out. So... Do we have to make another $6.000+ investment just to get some gameplay footage or are there cheaper alternatives that you know of?
Joakim Linden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2006, 01:13 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 611
you'd need a computer with a component HD capture card, or a component to HDV converter box.
__________________
Shorts::Cut - www.shortscut.org.uk
The Short Film Festival for Portsmouth & Southsea.
Dylan Pank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2006, 05:55 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
http://www.promax.com/Products/Detail/32282
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2006, 06:39 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Have you tried the simple solution... shooting an LCD or Plasma screen with your camcorder in a dark room?
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2006, 07:19 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 275
Or you can go to the Xbox 360 dimention and film them. Just dont get in thier way... I hear pixels really die on the 360... lol
Leo Pepingco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2006, 03:10 AM   #6
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2
Thanks for the suggestions guys! I guess there is no easy way around this... We will probably be forced to buy a HD capture card.

Do you know if there is a device out there that can take the HD component signal and output it as IEEE1394? The camera is able to record HD video through it's firewire port, so that would probably be a better option - if it exists.
Joakim Linden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2006, 04:17 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
It's going to be awhile until you can record HD from analog component inexpensively, like you can in SD with a cheap NTSC tuner/s-video/composite capture card.

The signal going over a firewire to an HDV camera has to be sent already encoded as HDV, for the camera to be able to record it to tape.

As a practical matter, to be able to capture and record the HD output from an Xbox is going to cost a sizable chunk of change right now.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network