Getting HDCAM onto my G5 via FW? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition
Topics about HD production.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 12th, 2006, 01:03 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Madrid
Posts: 13
Getting HDCAM onto my G5 via FW?

Hi. We shot some amazing aerial footage in HDCAM 1080 25P last week with the Cineflex System on a helicopter. My question is regarding how to get this HD footage onto my G5 in FCP (DP 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM).

The final delivery format for this project will be SD on DVD, so the simplest solution would be to take the 2 hours of HDCAM tapes to a conversion house and have them downconvert it for me to miniDVcam and then capture the DV via FW but Id prefer to get the orig. HD footage on my G5. This would allow me to zoom in and crop without noticable pixelization, I imagine (like film), but Im not sure if its even possible to get the HD onto the G5 without a special card (which I dont have).

A rental facility suggested I rent their Sony J-H3, which reproduces HD and has a FW out, but Im doubting itll ouput HD via FW. Am I correct? Can anyone offer any other suggestions? Will it be worth the hassle or should I just get the tapes converted to miniDV and play with the HD footage some other day.
Thanks a lot.
Mike
Mike Plonsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2006, 01:06 PM   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
JH3 will output timecode matching DV. You can capture via SDI, edit with the DV proxy, and replace the DV with HD when ready to finish your post.
You need a Kona, Bluefish, or BMD card to ingest via SDI, but your machine may not be equipped to handle that large of a stream.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2006, 02:30 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Madrid
Posts: 13
Thanks for the quick response!
Just to clarfy, are you saying the JH3 will let me capture DV via FW? And that if I want SDI Id need the right card? What else would my G5 need to handle the ingest of SDI? Its got a 400GB SATA media drive and a 250 GB SATA boot drive.
Also, would you recomend any particular cards if I were to make the investment? Like the DeckLink HD Extreme, by Blackmagic?
Tks again!
Mike
Mike Plonsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2006, 04:44 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Plonsky
Thanks for the quick response!
Just to clarfy, are you saying the JH3 will let me capture DV via FW? And that if I want SDI Id need the right card? What else would my G5 need to handle the ingest of SDI? Its got a 400GB SATA media drive and a 250 GB SATA boot drive.
Also, would you recomend any particular cards if I were to make the investment? Like the DeckLink HD Extreme, by Blackmagic?
Tks again!
Mike

Yes, the JH3 downconverts to DV on the fly via firewire.
I'm a big fan of BMD cards, but the Kona products are great too. Very limited experience with Bluefish, but I'm confident it's good stuff. These days, it's all pretty good.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2006, 01:36 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Quote:
What else would my G5 need to handle the ingest of SDI?
You need a hard drive array. [edited by moderator for links]
The easiest solution would probably be a 14-drive XSERV RAID + FC card for your G5. There are cheaper alternatives.

--The hardware cards need a specific kind of PCI slot (PCI-X I think, not PCI or pciE). I can't remember which G5s don't have them... you might want to double check that just in case. I don't follow this stuff that closely.

2- You might be able to get someone else to capture HD, and then transfer the captured file onto a firewire drive. I don't know if that's necessarily a good workflow, since transferring the file will take time. Playback won't be real-time without a drive/RAID array. You could use media manager to convert the data files and offline/online, but then it's getting convoluted.

Another option would be to work off downconverted copies... and re-capture particular HD segments if you find it's necessary.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2006, 02:26 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Madrid
Posts: 13
[QUOTE=
Another option would be to work off downconverted copies... and re-capture particular HD segments if you find it's necessary.[/QUOTE]

I think this is going to be the simplest move for now, given the time constraints and the hardware requirements you've mentioned. The only downside is not being able to recapture in the same timecode for future use of the HD but that's probably not that big a deal for now.

BTW my G5s have PCI-X. Thanks for the other forum recomendations. I'll check them out.

Que viva DVi!
Mike
Mike Plonsky is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network